Has The World Gone Mad While I Was Sick?

1.  Sorry, Smiley.

2.  Today I learned that I can snore without being asleep.  That’s weird.  I’ve never heard myself snore before, but, as far as snores go, mine’s kind of cute, like a large cat purring.  Or a small monster getting ready to take over the world.

3.  So, let me get this straight.  Michael Richards, an obviously white guy, calls some black guy a racial slur, one that white guys have been calling black guys in a disparaging manner since at least the Revolutionary War, according to Dictionary.com, and Jesse Jackson’s response is to call on "the entertainment industry, including rap artists, actors and major studios, to stop the use of the racial slur that triggered the scandal involving ‘Seinfeld’ comic actor Michael Richards."?

Is this insane to anyone else but me?

Richards didn’t call anyone a nigger because he thought it was okay because black folks use it.  He pulled that puppy out because he knew, as does every fucking white person in America, that it is a conversation-ender, a deal-breaker, a word with no analogous retort.

It doesn’t matter if every black person in the world stopped right this second using the word; that wouldn’t stop white people from using it against black people.  Which Jackson surely knows.

So, what’s the deal?

My guess is that Jackson is largely irrelevant to most rappers and young black entertainers and that this gives him a chance to throw his weight around a little bit, especially because white people, such as Richards, would love nothing more than to have just one black guy they could go to, say Jackson, and make amends.  It benefits Jackson to perpetuate the belief that he’s the go-to guy for doling out black understanding, both in terms of cementing his place in the larger culture and making some waves among young black entertainers.

But let’s be clear–the word did not trigger Richards’ scandal.  Black entertainers using that word didn’t trigger Richards’ scandal.  Richards triggered Richards’ scandal.

9 thoughts on “Has The World Gone Mad While I Was Sick?

  1. Well, white people do often say "well, I say the n word because black people say it". They are lying of course, but some may give them the benefit of the doubt.

  2. Hunh. I read this post, and all that came to mind was: "Yep."Isn’t that amazing? I agreed with something in less than a paragraph!

  3. Don’t sweat it B. I told you RUABelle’s been trying to give it to me for a couple of weeks now. It’s just my turn.Let me know if you find any drugs that work.Get well soon!

  4. Sharpton had the proper response to a request from Richards’ "people" to appear on his radio show and do the apology thing. He said he doesn’t have the authority to accept an apology for an entire race.The irony of Richards’ apology tour is that it is extending his renewed celebrity by a few more minutes, redirecting him from the trajectory he was on, a trip into the dustbin of sitcom history and an appearance on "The Surreal Life." I prefer not to hear anymore apologies or explanations; he should have apologized to the guys he attacked, made one or two public statements and then take the consequences of his actions like an adult.

  5. "I prefer not to hear anymore apologies or explanations; he should have apologized to the guys he attacked, made one or two public statements and then take the consequences of his actions like an adult."But…but…He has DVDs to sell.

  6. I know Sharpton has his issues, but I do love his willingless to speak bluntly when it’s called for.I do think it’s weird that there’s been no mention of whether Richards has apologized to the actual men he insulted.

  7. "It benefits Jackson to perpetuate the belief that he’s the go-to guy for doling out black understanding, both in terms of cementing his place in the larger culture and making some waves among young black entertainers."Truth.

  8. Jesse Jackson is a horse’s ass. He will show up anywhere, anytime, in the world just to get his face on teevee to attempt to still appear to be relevant. Growing up around Chicago, I have seen quite enough of him to last me more than one lifetime.It also puzzles me as to how he is able to be everywhere, everytime with no discernible source of income.Everytime I think he’s just going to step back, retire or something and let his son (now a congressman, soon to run for mayor of Chicago) ride his (dubious) coattails to success, he pops up again.No, I do not like him. Not one little bit. Except for that thing he did on SNL years ago. I love him for that.

Comments are closed.