Plez Leavz Message after Snorz

1.  Argh.  It hurts my heart it’s so cute!

2.  I’m just going to admit it.  I don’t get Twitter.  To me, it’s like standing in Central Station shouting.  Everyone hears you but…  I don’t know.  I keep doing it, waiting to understand what the big deal is and feeling kind of stupid because I don’t.

3.  I was thinking, when I was walking the dog, that, if a person looked too closely at our system for dealing with illegal immigrants, she’d be reminded of Blazing Saddles in which the town builds a fake town to lure the bad guys into thinking that there’s something real there.  I don’t know who, in that analogy, is responsible for farting, but we could figure that out.

4.  Theriomorph has started a self-portrait blog.  I want to send in a picture of myself, basically because I hate pictures of myself, and it would be a way of doing something that makes me very uncomfortable.  But, for that reason, I’m having a hard time committing to the idea of doing it.

4.5  And wow.  I can take a picture of myself, but I don’t know if I can make it art.

5.  My mom told me that the cinnamon wheat thins were great.  And I was unconvinced by the sound of it.  But we are out of food and so I was forced to open the box and eat them for breakfast and, what do you know?  They are good.

42 thoughts on “Plez Leavz Message after Snorz

  1. I want nothing to do with Twitter. If blogs are just navel gazing, what the hell is Twittering? The truth is, I don’t care what is on my friend’s minds 24/7.

    Mundane doesn’t come close to describing it.

  2. Well, some people don’t get blogging either so, you know, if you don’t like it, move on.

    And…I heart the cinnamon wheat thins, too! I was also skeptical but I had them at a party served with a delicious apple & cream cheese dip and I just couldn’t stop eating them!

  3. I think what Twitter appeals to in me is some chaotic inner nature. I like the random bursts of updates. If blogs are like mini speeches followed by question and answer sessions, Twitter is much more like a huge party where every topic is fair game and you can mix and mingle, only the party never ends so you choose when you want to take part and when you don’t.

    Twitter is being used in some very cool ways already, such as Joshua Rothhaas’ 140story which produces gems like:

    He had grown old and crotchety. However, even with inflation a halfpence of imagination would still buy him all the adventure he could want.

    And there are the utility applications of it, such as integration with Remember the Milk and Google Calendar, among many others.

    I think it still hasn’t been exploited to its fullest potential, and it’s already useful and fun, if you ask me. But you didn’t. :)

  4. It took me awhile to get into Twitter, and I’ve stopped following some people who get overly involved documenting every moment. It’s good for mass IMing.

    There are few people who can take really delicious self portraits – Brittney G’s one of them. I don’t know how she does it – I don’t have much success with that.

  5. It took me awhile to get into Twitter, and I’ve stopped following some people who get overly involved documenting every moment. It’s good for mass IMing.

    There are few people who can take really delicious self portraits – Brittney G’s one of them. I don’t know how she does it – I don’t have much success with that.

  6. I like it because of my location and it keeps me connected to my friends/colleagues across the state.
    That’s just me.
    I also, as someone who loves to analyze media/pop culture trends, get to see what people are actually talking about. An example would be Heath Ledger’s death and the ongoing twittering during the Republican and Democratic Debates.
    Juicy stuff to me.
    And, as Jag said, I quit following a few folks. Scoble would post every ten seconds and I just couldn’t take it anymore. Same with ScriptingNews.

  7. Pingback: My Quiet Life » twitter

  8. Christian, Christian, Christian. It’s not your hair. I’m still pissed at you about the pit bull nonsense. But I couldn’t get twitter to let me okay you or a couple of other people. That’s why I switched from private to public. You should be able to follow me just fine now, I think. Let me know if it doesn’t work and I’ll fart with the settings some more.

    I’m sticking with it, pretty much because, yeah, when I see some of what Brittney can do in such a small space I feel like I’m seeing a new kind of art. But I’m struggling, too, to figure out what I want out of it.

  9. Yup, Christian, that video kinda captures my perspective. I’m sorry, but thousands of mindless messages going back and forth, especially “written” in message board “speak”, isn’t something I see as all that beneficial. I’m sure the technology has important, possibly even life saving applications, but in the hands of the chronically needy, it will soon, (if not already) be overwhelmed by LoLcat style blathering.

  10. I totally rejected Christian’s Twitter follower request because of his hair. ;)

    And if Mack won’t Twitter what makes you think he’ll Facebook?

  11. 4.5 And wow. I can take a picture of myself, but I don’t know if I can make it art.

    If you ever get over your anxieties surrounding overly-familiar asshats, I can hook you up with more Photoshop tutorials than Carter’s has pills. I can even hook you up with licensed copy of an old version of Photoshop.
    .

  12. Pingback: Nashville is Talking » Understanding the Twitter tubes

  13. Mack, you have written what is perhaps the perfect tweet:

    “The World is learning to communicate in 140 characters or less.”

    Indeed. And economy of expression is typically valued in writing.

  14. Kate, I’ll admit that a little of my aversion to this fad is that I stand at the threshold of old-fogeyism. I’m reminded of my Dad’s facial contortions upon hearing The Beatles for the first time. But another aspect of all this constant communication applications is that i have grown tired of visiting someone, or them visiting, and having to compete with their various hand held devices for face time. Few have the courtesy to turn the damn things off when interacting in, what do the kids call it…meatworld? If I was in the middle of a particularly satisfying conversation, complete with, well, complete sentences and everything, only to have the other person jump to get the latest “Dude, I’m totally munching out on Oreos” tweet, I believe I’d think twice about carving out time for that person ever again.

  15. AuntB, don’t be mad at me :( “Dog bites man” has to be the oldest reported news story on the planet. When animals attack, it’s news. I can’t help that. If a day goes by that we don’t have at least one animal story, I’d be shocked, so we do have way more stories about other animals. We have also gone out of our way to report the good stories about pit bulls, like the lady in Cookeville who started a national pit bull awareness day. Sadly, no one seems to care as much when we do that, though. But we do it as a service to the people.

    I still love your blog ;)

  16. Hey, Aunt B – it’s true, we can’t all be Nezua. : ) His eye is amazing. But you know, if the text & image/story-self portrait appeals, do it – it gets more interesting the more people play with the form. It’s demanding, no doubt – but really beautiful and moving to see what people make. Both very personal/intimate and very resonant for the audience, too – I’m hoping it creates as much self-reflection as it presents, you know? Not a narcissistic inward gaze, but a story/outward communication, an act of generosity.

    So. If you feel like it. : )

    The Twitter stuff I’ve liked best is by poets who have adapted the tech to short forms. Haiku-style: essential words, strong, short images.

  17. If I ever open up an honest to go Butcher shop, I’m calling it Meatworld. And I will craft all manner of carnival rides out of meat and power them with little electric motors. I cannot wait to see the little Vienna Sausage children on the Merry-go-round.

    And, Christian, who can blame you? I win everyone over eventually. I think it’s the LOLcurlz.

  18. Theriomorph, I totally do want to do it, just because it scares the shit out of me, but I do want to mull over just what kind of story I want to tell. And then get brave enough to send it.

  19. And I will craft all manner of carnival rides out of meat and power them with little electric motors.

    Think of the fun you’d have with The Zipper.

  20. A butcher shop ought to get a lot of business just by itself. Especially if they make their own varieties of sausage. For 20 years I never lived more than a 15-minute walk from at least one butcher, usually more of them and much closer. And that’s not even mentioning the pork stores (where I, of course, didn’t shop). I miss that.

  21. My grandma always took us to the butcher shop when we went to visit her and it really makes me sad that I don’t know of one here in town. Maybe the Butcher should open one.

  22. I’ve never been to a real butcher place, that I can remember. Well, there’s this german deli 40 minutes away, and I think they make their own sausages and meat products, but still.

  23. Mack said:
    “The death of nuance.”

    I see it as practically the opposite. When you’ve only got 140 characters, what do you have besides nuance to fill in the empty spaces?

    Several of the tweets I’ve marked as my favorites over the months have been filled with a murky meaning that leaves interpretation to the reader, such as:

    “I am become Death, destroyer of the last vestiges of my productivity and leisure time. Holy crap, TwitterMan.” – CeeElCee

    “Am dying to say the F word just once.” – mycropht

    “Unleashing fogger on spiders in basement. Such conflicting emotions for an arachnophobic Buddhist.” – neuralnoise

    “the wonderful thing about standards is that there are so many to choose from” – JorgeBarrios

    “And in the markets today, Greed was up 300 points as traders unloaded their positions in Fear.” – r

    I know updates like this are in the minority, but they’re there. And they’re nuanced, in their ways. And they’re definitely part of what makes Twitter worthwhile to me.

    (I guess I could stand to get more concise with my writing, huh? ;) )

  24. Mack,

    I both agree and disagree. I think Twitter can be a fun thing if you’re at your desk waiting for a work email to come through or bored with the latest presentation build-out you’re working on or suffering writer’s block on your novels.

    But I holy effing hate it when I’m with a group of people that I’ve taken the time to leave the house for, spent gas money to be with, done my hair and makeup for, given up other activities for, etc. only to have them spend the whole time punctuating our conversations with their handheld gadgets.

    (The one time it didn’t bother me was the party at your house where Kate was tweeting the goings-on to Brittney who wanted to be at the party but couldn’t make it.)

  25. Mack said: “Kate, I’ll admit that a little of my aversion to this fad is that I stand at the threshold of old-fogeyism. I’m reminded of my Dad’s facial contortions upon hearing The Beatles for the first time.”

    So you have become your parents, or are you still in the process of doing so?

    It’s OK, I’m turning into my mom too…

  26. Pingback: Music City Bloggers » Blog Archive » Nashville Twitter

Leave a Reply

