Lilacs

Oh, y’all, remind me that I need to take a picture of the bush I was able to determine was a lilac based on the arrival of the gift lilac from Liz.  Because it has flowers!  Mrs. Wigglebottom and I saw them when we were walking around this morning.  I looked at her and said, “Is something stuck in the lilac bush?” and she looked at me and said, “I’m a dog, remember?  I can’t say anything.” and we went over and looked and we have two clusters about to blossom.

Two whole clusters!

I laughed so hard when I saw that.

After the hacking Mom and I gave it last fall, to cut the dead stuff out, I felt like this was a sign from the plant–“I’m alive!  I swear!  Look!  I can flower.  Please, let me live.”

I am very charmed.  And, I believe the lilac.  It can flower and it will.

(Also, I got word from Beth that she has wisteria seeds for me.  I cannot tell you how excited I am about this.  The only slight drawback is that I want to plant the wisteria where the peas are.  But I’m willing to lose the peas to gain some wisteria.  Though, who knows?  Maybe this year they’ll both grow together okay.)

6 thoughts on “Lilacs

  1. not only do I have wisteria seed for you, but quite a few of these already have roots on them and some even have little wisteria seedlings sprouting. My mother was thrilled to get rid of them.

    Also, I went and scoped out the white wisteria that grows on Main Street in my hometown. No seed to be found there, but I have people on that task too.

  2. Oooooh, wisteria. In my experience, a vigorous wisteria demands a sturdier support than does a pea plant. Something along the lines of a grape arbor would suffice. By comparison, I train my pea plants on a 4-foot piece of hogwire upended and impaled on rebar stuck into the garden plot. All the wisteria vine I’ve known would make short order of that construction by the second growing season.

  3. My goal is to grow that wisteria up the rickity fence and then across the roof of the shed! It will be gorgeous! It may tear down the shed. It may be the worst idea in the history of bad ideas.

    But I’m doing it.

  4. It could be an art installation. “Something-something-Dystopian-Nature-something-Temporal-something-something-Beauty-Decay.”
    Or, it could be a Gothic movie set.
    Or, it could be a future archeological dig of Major Significance, so you better just start putting lots of weird stuff in the shed to blow the minds of those Future Archeologists.

  5. FYI – Lilacs take a *long* time to grow. You probably have some kind of cultivar if it’s blooming after only a year or two.

    As they’re the most awesome plants ever – congrats!

  6. Oh, I wasn’t clear. I have lilacs on the bush in my yard I didn’t know was a lilac. The new baby lilac is flowerless, as expected.

Comments are closed.