Oh, Pro-Life Activists, Why Must You Be Such Immoral Asshats?

Y’all, this is so rich I about can’t believe it.   And I hate to give it any more hits than it deserves (which is clearly none), but you have to see this to believe it.

I have been linked to by a pro-life blog.  No, not just a pro-life blog, which I would be fine with.  Blogs are for linking and being linked to.  But I have been linked to by a pro-life blog aggregator which skates so far close to the line of unethical that it just skates right over it into asshat land.

Let’s count sins, shall we?

1. Not being clear that you’re an aggregator who is reposting bits of other people’s content, but instead making it look, at first glance, like all of the content is yours.

2.  Not identifying that that’s my content you’ve put up on your site.  My words, which I wrote.

3.  Using my words, which I wrote, which you failed to identify as mine as content for your blog WHICH YOU SELL ADVERTISING ON.

You didn’t write those words.  You didn’t add commentary to those words.  But you’re making money off of my words.

You know what that makes you, Martin Marks, and your Pelican Project?

Asshats.

You’re stealing my content and then turning around and selling it to your advertisers.

You know what God says about that kind of bullshit?

I don’t know, sometimes the Bible can be hard to understand, but let’s see.  God says, “Thou shall not steal.”

That means, um…

Yes…

Well, that you should not take things that don’t belong to you and pass them off as your own so that you can make money.

I see no room for special dispensation for pro-life folks, so shape up, motherfuckers.

5 thoughts on “Oh, Pro-Life Activists, Why Must You Be Such Immoral Asshats?

  1. Is there any way to make their auto-aggregator clip and publish “shape up, motherfuckers.”? Probably not, but it would be good if one could.

  2. Merlin Mann had an interesting few things to say about this practice called “feed scraping”: http://www.43folders.com/2009/04/10/free-me
    (take the time to read the links in the third paragraph).

    I doubt, however, that the Pelican Project would be as receptive to the concerns of the actual writers as the Wall Street Journal’s Kara Swisher appears to be.

  3. What total, immoral, thieving pigs! Not a bit surprised, though.

    An antisemitic site posted pieces of this post, and before I could complain, the domain was taken down… really alarmed me for about a day and a half. And the site is still kaput, so that is comforting.

    Sounds like this one needs to be put out of its misery also.

Comments are closed.