I Lost Some Bradstreets

I know I thought I’d found Bradstreets on both Mom and Dad’s sides of the family tree, but I’ll be damned if I can find my mom’s Bradstreets again. There comes a point back when Geneology.com is so unweildy and you can’t really tell any more who is related to whom. I mean, you can in the particular, but if you’re looking to see if you’ve got Bradstreets on both sides of the family tree, you really need a roadmap for sifting through thousands of people.

It’d be nice if they had some way to just ask “which of my parents does this person belong to?”

Anyway, I found Anne on my dad’s side:

Me–Dad–Avis–Sadie Sanborn–Abraham Sanborn–Sarah Dearborn–Josiah Dearborn–T Hutchinson–Theodate Morrill–Joanna Dow–Mary Mussey–Joseph Mussey–Bridget Bradstreet–Ann Dudley Bradstreet

I was all excited and asked the Butcher, “You remember that poem about the house burning down?” And he said, “I didn’t read in school.” And thus ended my thrill, because I had no one to share it with.

17 thoughts on “I Lost Some Bradstreets

  1. Hi, can you tell me anything of Bridget Bradstreet? My mother’s maiden name is Muzzy (many variant spellings), and one of her ancestors Robert Muzzy married Bridget Bradstreet and died by 1644. But I am having a hard time proving that Bridget was the daughter of Anne Dudley Bradstreet because she would have been married at about the age of two! Can you give me any info about this particular Bridget? Thank you.

  2. Hi, Sarah, I must be a distant cousin of yours, because I, too, am related to Anne through Bridget who married Robert Muzzy. And I, too, have the same problem you have, only worse. My information has Anne being born in 1612 and Bridget being born in 1606. I also have Bridget being born in Ipswich, Mass.

    Now, I’ll be honest, I just figured Bridget’s birthday was completely wrong, since she couldn’t have been born in Ipswich before 1634 and didn’t give it another thought.

    But now that I look at it, I don’t know. There are two possibilities. Either we both have the Mussy dates completely wrong or Bridget Bradstreet is not Anne’s daughter, but her sister-in-law (her husband’s sister).

  3. Helpful historian weighing in…Bridget Bradstreet Muzzy was not Anne’s daughter. Muzzy died in 1644 and she remarried a couple more times (Thomas Rowlandson of Lancaster and William Kerley) thereafter. Bridget had four living children with Muzzy — Mary, Ellen, Joseph, and Benjamin.

    You can find her immigration info in Great Migration: Immigrants to New England, 1634-1635, Volume I, A-B (LC call number F7.G742 1999, if you want to order it through interlibrary loan).

  4. I have come to the opinion that everything on Ancestry.com prior to 1780 is probably 75% just made up. I think you can use it to get some good ideas about where your people might have come from, but exact dates and exact relations?

    No.

  5. There’s a lot of bullshit and wishful thinking in any part of the genie biz. Many are motivated to research their ancestors because they don’t like their family’s present — they want to find a time when their relations were more important people. It’s hard to resist the temptation to connect yourself to your culture heroes. And, as you know, there’s the powerful motivation to cover up the things that happened in the past that might shock the modesty of Aunt Ethel — what, you mean Sarah Ainse was really Mohawk? And Great-great- great uncle Chester wasn’t really married to “Aunt” Louise?

    You just have to be very very patient, verify everything through primary documents, and rigorously question every implication and speculation. I think that many people so crave certainty that what starts out as a maybe when they write it down the first time starts crawling over into the category of a definitely when someone else asks you. As you know, the genie crowd is full of people who like to be considered THE expert on their family’s past and who are very competitive and proprietary about who has the right to tell “the real story”. (A small traipse through the Demonbreuns showed you that…)

  6. I believe I have mentioned a distant cousin of mine who takes a letter in which the writer says his sister married a man (a common ancestor of us both) who was said to be a descendant of someone important to constitute proof that we are, indeed, descended from that important person.

  7. I found a Phillips with the name “Freelove.” I’m sad that, so far, I can’t relate “Freelove” to me.

    I’m especially trying to be patient about Luke and Patience, because I have so wanted to just be all “Aha! This must be it!” Like, with Patience, I think her mom is Abigail, because Abigail is the only Simmons the right age in the right place in Michigan, but that’s based on a HUGE assumption that Patience would have come to Michigan with her parents. What if she were an indentured servant? Or just a servant in general?

    Then it doesn’t matter if there’s a Simmons the right age in the area.

    So, as much as I’d love to just say “Yep, that must be it,” I don’t dare.

  8. … okay, that’s it, I might need to get you working on my tree, because my dad’s stepdad, who grew up near where your Phillipses were, was a Simmonds.

  9. I’m a descendant of the Bridget Bradstreet who was the SISTER of Simon (and sister-in-law of Anne). She married Robert Muzzy, and that’s my mom’s maiden name. We too got confused with the two Bridgets (one being a niece of the other).

    There is also another Bridget Bradstreet in MA about that time, but she was married to Humphrey Bradstreet. Numerous descendants also.

  10. Clarification to what I posted above – Anne Dudley Bradstreet didn’t have a daughter named Bridget, which should have been my first clue. I misspoke in talking about two Bridgets. I’d bet that we all got off on the wrong foot from that Muzzy genealogy account published years ago which said that Bridget Bradstreet Muzzy was her daughter instead of her sister-in-law.

  11. Aunt B., are you descended from the Robert/Bridget Muzzy line which was “big” in Lexington? Buckman’s Tavern was “Muzzy Tavern” until 1774, and Isaac Muzzy was one of the eight men killed on the village green in April 1775. I went there a year ago with my brother and we took a lot of photos of gravestones and I got some helpful booklets. The my mom’s ancestor went to Ohio in approx 1823 and then to Wisconsin.

  12. Sarah, yes, those are my ancestors. Robert and Bridget had a son, Joseph Muzzy, who had a daughter, Mary, who had a daughter, Joanna Dow, who had a daughter, Theodate Morrill. She married Johnathan Hutchinson and moved to New Hampshire, where they became neighbors with the people who would become my New Hampshire ancestors.

    Their daughter, Theodate, married into the Dearborns, who married into the Sanborns, who eventually married into the Robinsons, who eventually birthed my Grandma. They came from New Hampshire to Michigan and that’s how that part of my family got to the Midwest.

    I’m excited to learn about the tavern. I’ve been to Boston a couple times and loved it but that was before I knew how many of my ancestors lived there. I’d love to go back now that I know.

  13. I’m so glad I found this page. I’ve been looking at the Bridget Bradstreet issue as well and knew she couldn’t be Simon’s daughter. The Internet is great but sometimes it’s near impossible to find people who are actually researching a line and not just copying what they find. It’s been awhile since your original post and I was wondering what else you’ve found.

Leave a Reply

