The Contest Afghan Hits a Snag, Almost Literally

So, I am in massive love with the yarn I’m using on the contest afghan. It’s so soft. It’s chunky in a really cute way. And it’s warm. It’s really, really nice (Lion Brand Yarn’s Homespun).

But when I went to sew the strips together, I learned the terrible weakness of the yarn. It does not hold up well to being used to sew. By the end of sewing my first two rows together, I had serious concerns about whether the top of the afghan would hold together.

So, now I’m joining the strips with a single crochet stitch. It gives the afghan a more “rustic” look and it’ll have ribs on the back but I think it needs it structurally.

Still, what a headache. And I didn’t even have any cheesy television to distract me while I tore all the stitches out because the orange cat barfed into the cable box.

3 thoughts on “The Contest Afghan Hits a Snag, Almost Literally

  1. “And I didn’t even have any cheesy television to distract me while I tore all the stitches out because the orange cat barfed into the cable box.”

    That’s…well, that’s hilarious. I dropped palack paneer into my cable modem last night and my internet has been spotty ever since…sadly, just spotty, not spicy. At least you can blame a cat!

  2. This afghan will be able to hold people hostage when it’s done! I’m glad to hear I’m not the only person who has those problems with it. A great many of the Lion Brand patters using it are based on the idea that you can sew bits together.

    But I honestly don’t see how that would work if you sewed them together with Homespun yarn.

Leave a Reply

