In Which I Confess a Secret Love

I don’t know if there’s an easy way to get on the Bates Nursery email list, and it doesn’t look like their news is RSS-able, but I have to tell you, nothing makes me as consistently happy as getting their gardening thoughts. This time, David Bates is answering all your trimming questions. Or all my trimming questions, what to cut way back, what not to cut way back, when to trim, etc.

If I won the lottery, I would spend all my money there, I swear. If I ever do win the lottery, someone force me to get a stern accountant who will put me on a gardening allowance.

6 thoughts on “In Which I Confess a Secret Love

  1. I follow them on Twitter and love their updates and links. I hve totally spent a total house refurbishment budget on gardening and plants over the years. Getting $50 out of me for drapes and window treatments is like pulling teeth, buying 5 Hellebores for $10 each doesn’t take a 2nd thought. Dangerous.

  2. Oooh hellebores…

    Hey, while you’re at it, what other local gardening centers have you found to be awesome? There are some things I want that Bates doesn’t have (pawpaw trees), and I’d rather not have to order plants to be shipped if I can get ‘em locally.

  3. Jo, this area is chuck full of good gardening centers. Flower’s is really good. I’ve heard good things about Gardens of Babylon. If you drive up Dickerson and go past Briley (just past where they’re putting in the new Walmart) there are a few garden centers on the left and right. And those are just the ones I know of in my neck of the woods.

    I don’t know if you’ve discovered this yet, but the area around McMinnville is pretty much devoted to growing plants for nurseries. It might not be that hard to see who down there is growing paw paws and who up here they supply.

Leave a Reply

