The Mystery of the Cross Continues

You remember, when last we bothered to discuss the cross on the side of the road, that it was, as it had been since shortly after Christmas, just laying on the side of the road, looking discarded and forgotten.

It was still that way on Monday. Tuesday I didn’t walk the dog because I slept through my alarm and yesterday… well it was raining and I had to deal with the water heater.

So, some time, either Tuesday or Wednesday, not only did someone else finally notice the cross, they set it upright along the side of the road. Well, kind of upright. It’s leaning against a fence.

But man! I saw it today and it kind of gave me chills. Not the cross so much. Being a minister’s kid, I kind of have those down. But I know that thing was litter someone tossed on the side of the road, garbage as far as they were concerned. And I thought it was kind of interesting to watch it weather and all.

But I got the chills thinking about the person who saw it there and was like “No, that doesn’t just slowly sink into the mud. Not when I’m here to bear witness and do something about it.”

Cross-uprighter. It’s not something you can put on your resume. But for someone, that was something worth doing this week.

I don’t know.

That just really moves me. And it got “Up from the Grave He Arose” stuck in my head. So, if you hear me singing “with a mighty triumph o’er his foes” which is the best part of that song, melodically, that’s why.

8 thoughts on “The Mystery of the Cross Continues

  1. I love that hymn. But I always get it mixed up in my addled brain with the theme song from the 1970s Godzilla cartoon. “Up from the depths, 30 stories high, breathes fire, his head in the sky–Godzilla!!!!”

  2. It could be that whoever put it out there straightened it, if it’s marking the site of a car accident fatality. Are there ever funeral/cemetery-type flowers around it?

  3. No, no funeral-type flowers. I’m almost positive that it’s not a marker. The bottom end isn’t sharp and the bottom and top both have holes in it. That cross was hung, possibly outside, in the air.

    I’m pretty sure it’s a Christmas decoration tossed aside.

    Jess, I would like to see two competing choirs battle to see who could sing each of those songs the loudest.

  4. Weird! Yeah, you’d expect at least some flowers and likely a marking of some sort – dates, initials, etc. Years ago I saw an exhibit of roadside memorial photography in Knoxville that I think you would get a kick out of, but I’ve been unable to dig up the artist’s name.

  5. I wonder if it would be rude to call around and find out who was doing that song Easter morning. Because I definitely could roll out of bed to sing that song at the top of my lungs.

    I will have to hold myself back from singing it at the top of my lungs just sitting here in the office.

  6. That cross-uprighter, madam, is Walking the Walk.

    I, like you, commend that individual. He/she has a lovely mansion just over the hilltop, I think. (One of my fave piano-thumpers, to go along with your most excellent hymn choice.)

Leave a Reply

