Woman Things

1. You know, I’m glad comic book artists have taken into consideration complaints that women’s boobs in comic books are too round and point too often towards a woman’s face when they should be making their way towards her feet in an elegant teardrop shape. But trust me, comic book artists, when you’re hanging upside down, those things–real or fake–make their way neckward. There’s not a bra alive that could give that boob that shape in that position.

2. Dead medieval witches! Of Doom! I just threw the “of doom” part in there.

3. Oh, I didn’t tell you guys the coolest thing that happened last week. So, in general, when writing a story in which you posit that an actual historical dude was the Devil–yes, a sexy devil, but still the Devil–you try not to pick a historical dude with descendants. So, rather than making Timothy Demonbreun the Devil (and I had considered it), I picked Joseph Durard, who certainly couldn’t have had children with Elizabeth Bennett because she would have been in her fifties. Tra la la. I went on my way.

And then I found out that she did have children with Durard. Oops. Since then, I have been quietly cringing in the back of my mind, wondering if any Durards would be all “And now we will hunt you down and beat you to death with copies of your own book.” Last week, I heard from a Durard. And she loved finding a story about her great-grandpa! Even if he was the Devil. Whew. I told her all the information I had on her ancestors and it was cool.

19 thoughts on “Woman Things

  1. That comic frame? Deeply disturbing. I mean, personal experience or no, the lack of observational skills needed to draw that seems pathological.

  2. Well, Mike, I guess you should have read the whole book! Ha ha ha.

    NM, I can’t look at it too much, because it’s so deeply wrong. It goes right into the uncanny valley for me.

  3. For me it hits the “I don’t understand what I’m looking at” spot. I mean, I literally can’t get my brain to process that as a woman with breasts. I can only see a figure with a highly developed upper left arm and a frill of some sort around the left elbow. That’s what I mean by “disturbing.” Even telling myself what it is intended to represent I can’t actually see it.

  4. I just keep thinking the picture is upside down.

    But it seems that the right boob is affected by gravity. I think.

  5. That’s the weirdest part. Why is the right boob where it belongs but the left boob unaffected by gravity? I’m all for recalcitrant boobs, don’t get me wrong, but I feel like this is extreme.

  6. I’m not convinced that is underwear. If it’s a bra, there’s no shoulder strap but it’s the wrong shape to be strapless. I’m thinking that she just came from robbing a seafood restaurant and that’s a clamshell on the one breast to match the small dolphin-looking thing clinging to the other breast.

  7. “I’m thinking that she just came from robbing a seafood restaurant and that’s a clamshell on the one breast to match the small dolphin-looking thing clinging to the other breast.”

    Priceless.

    I think that the key point is that comics are a declining art form with even more rapidly declining impact on the broader culture. When Marvel began hitting its stride in the late 60s I remember that the discussion of cultural impact centered around heroes with ordinary human personal problems not Sue Storm’s costume.

    If the best that DC can offer to rebrand is Catwoman’s costume or promiscuous heroines, then the end is nearer than I thought. A good sign of the impending end of comics is the fact that the major income in the industry comes from movies about characters who are part of America’s mythos {Batman and Superman} or are heroes of the 60 and 70s {Spiderman, Hulk, Iron Man etc} which target an audience that no longer buys comics.

    For a delightfully funny look at the fans of comics, SF and role playing check out Sharyn McCrumb’s hilarious ‘Bimbos of the Death Sun.’ It made a few years of selling D&D stuff worth it like reading the ‘Lord of the Rings’ is worth the time in order to enable one to read ‘Bored of the Rings,’

  8. Zombies of the Gene Pool is oh so better, IMO. It totally, but totally gets and skewers late Golden Age/early New Wave SF writers. And also people who think that computers are going to solve everything.

  9. I think there’s a really cool set of women writers out there who write across several genres, and they write cool/strong/funny/etc. female protagonists that are way more fun to read than what I’m guessing you’d find in most comic books (esp. if that Catwoman thingie is any indication). I’m thinking Gail Carriger, Ilona Andrews, Patricia Briggs, and I’m sure there are a few more I need to get to. I’m not a big fan of graphic novels, but there have to be some really good ones out there along those lines.

    Believe me, I’m not averse to gratuitous t and a, but if I’m going to sit and read something I don’t want my intellect insulted. I think maybe this old sexist, misogynist comic book world needs to die a little.

  10. Well, Sam, yeah. But. A lot of women love comics.* And they could walk away from that world, but they’d rather stay with the world and not have it constantly slug them in the teeth, ya know. If they find things to value about the comic book world, I’m sure they feel it’s worth nurturing the parts that they value, even if that means being hurt by other parts of it.

    *I am not one, but I imagine that those who do feel the same way I do about SF&F, especially the SF part. There’s a lot of it that I have to ignore, but that makes the increasingly large part that I don’t ignore all the more welcome.

  11. nm,

    Thanks for the info. I didn’t realize that there was another book like ‘Bimbos.’

    If you have never run across ‘Bored of the Rings,’ I suggest checking it out. I have been conscious of having at least two copies on hand since I first read the book back in college. Probably the best parody ever written.

    Aunt B.,

    I would never speak ill of promiscuous women {or men} on the basis of their promiscuity. The exploitation of the idea of the promiscuous woman does deserve rebuke.

  12. Thanks for that input, nm. It gives me a different perspective. I went to the local ComicCon last month, and was turned off by the overwhelming piles of garbage, much of it blatantly misogynist. It was going to be my last visit, but I think I’ll give it another try next year, and set my sights on finding female artists and writers.

Leave a Reply

