In the Cool of the Day

I believe myself to be a person who hates exercise, but I tell you, I would not trade my morning walks with the dog for anything. Possibly it doesn’t really count as exercise anymore, since the dog is so slow in her old age and I am content to let her dawdle.

But I like being outside before the bugs are thick, watching the night’s condensation rise back up out of the hills like a layer of ghosts stretching before heading out to haunt for the day.

The hollyhocks are gone and I’m kind of bummed about that. I was hoping they’d reseed themselves, but I’m not seeing any evidence that they did.

My cousin A. is talking about coming down and I hope she does. I’d love to cover us up in three inches of Deep Woods Off and sit out in the hammocks.

2 thoughts on “In the Cool of the Day

Comments are closed.