Rose Hill aka Colonel Edmund Baxter’s House

It was exactly what you’d hope an almost 200 year old home would be. It looks like itself. Its history has been respected. And it’s been modified in ways that make it feel like it’s still a workable building that serves its current purpose. I mean, my god, people, they have roses out front. See? It’s just lovely.

I’m going to try to caption these photos so that you can see what I saw without me having to post each one individually. We’ll see how it goes. I’m going to write something up for Pith, too.

One thought on “Rose Hill aka Colonel Edmund Baxter’s House

  1. Hello. In reference to your comment that Septima Sexta Middleton Rutledge was named such because of her father signing the Declaration of Independence in 1776. That is incorrect she WAS the 7th child and 6th daughter as I have seen the genealogy as a house docent at Middleton Place. I just thought you would want to know. If you are ever in the Charleston SC area come check MP out.I think you would like it. I enjoyed your history of Rose Hill and am going to check it out while in Nashville TN this weekend.

Comments are closed.