Garou

Oh people, when I learned that Louisiana folks interchange “loup garou” and “roux garoux” and that, in fact, you can have all kinds of garous (garouex?)–wolfs, chickens, gators, well, maybe not chickens.

So, for you, I invented my own garou–the rock garou–who terrorizes Little Egypt.

Oh, people, I cannot wait. I had to invent some rules for how a garou would work. I cribbed some from the Cajuns–like the idea that you can get rid of your garou-dom by biting but not killing someone else (which is more difficult than you’d imagine)–and made others up–like the real insidious thing about the rock garou is that it can continue to prey on you even after it’s dead, if you get too close to it.

Honestly, I whooped when I pieced it all together.

See, it’s always been the Deraque garou, but the English speaking folks misheard…

But how did the Deraques become garous? Oh, that’s hard saying. Was it a result of the Lachine massacre? Was it Satanism? Witchcraft? A plot contrivance? Oooo. Who can say?

People, I cannot wait.

5 thoughts on “Garou

  1. Does one become a garou? Wouldn’t that be like becoming a wer? I mean, I think the idea is fascinating but I’m not sure the terminology is right.

  2. No, this is the best part. Garou doesn’t mean man in the same way that the “wer” in werewolf literally means man. Garou comes from the Frankish garulf, which you probably already see is “gar” or “wer” “ulf” or “wolf.”

    Garou has come to mean “someone who changes” with the first word telling you what he changes into–so a loup garou is a wolf that a man changes into. And if there was such a thing, a poulet garou would be a chicken a man changes into.

    But back there in that word’s history, it already meant werewolf. So loup garou means literally wolf werewolf.

    And thus I die of happiness.

  3. That’s fascinating. So the Germanic werewolf traditions overcame both the Celtic and Latin ones, I guess.

  4. Or at least everyone in western Europe agreed that “werewolf” was just a bad ass name for the phenomenon and then just kept their own legends and traditions.

    The thing that tickles me most… or I guess also tickles me… is that I was following links on Wikipedia and the Caribbean soucouyant is also known as a loogaroo or Ole Higue and I had already written a part in the story where people speculate that the problem with the house in question is an Old Hag. I felt delighted to have already made that connection.

Comments are closed.