Earworms

Here are two things I’m digging lately, which I believe I’m digging solely because Lightning 100 is becoming subtly more interesting.

First up is Dr Dog’s “Lonesome.” I don’t really care for the rest of the album, but the Butcher totally loves it. So, I guess if you know where in the Venn Diagram the Butcher’s music and my music don’t overlap, you know what they sound like (hint, like they sound like they fell asleep at a Grateful Dead show and woke up at a Phish concert). But this song is awesome. Please don’t ask me to explain the video. It looks like some guys are kidnapped by a cute dude who then shoots them with cake ingredients? I don’t know. Kids today. Whatever. Song’s still good.

Second is J.D. McPherson’s “North Side Gal.” I bought this album and it is outstanding. To me, it sounds like it could have come right out of the 50s, but you know, I thought that about the Stray Cats, too, so possibly don’t take my word for it.

Leave a Reply

