Well, No One Died

So, we were sitting in the living room last night and there was this big “pop” and the Butcher shouted “Look at that crack!” because there was now a big crack in the ceiling. And my mom said, “We need to get out of this room right now.”

And for some reason, even though we usually don’t, we listened to her. All except Mrs. Wigglebottom who stood there in the middle of the room.

Then the whole ceiling came down in a huge cloud of insulation. And I stood there like “What the fuck?” And then the cloud cleared and there was Mrs. Wigglebottom staring at me like “What the fuck?”

I have no idea how she wasn’t killed.

I have no idea why the ceiling collapsed.

But I did learn these fun facts.

–If the insurance adjuster can’t find a reason, they won’t cover it.

–The insurance adjuster will contact us in the next 24 to 48 hours.

–Which means we have to live with my ceiling in my living room for at least that long.

I kind of want to cry and I kind of also can’t wrap my brain around it. If insurance won’t cover it, we have no money to fix it. So, that’s not good. But again, I kind of know that in the front of my brain, but it hasn’t really sunk in yet.

Here’s what it looks like.

Everyone is fine. Somehow. So, that’s what counts.

18 thoughts on “Well, No One Died

  1. Holy crap! I’m so sorry that happened. Hopefully they will find some reason so they will cover it and you can make sure it doesn’t happen anywhere else!

  2. And that would have been dolphin ^^ WordPress is liking to pick random aliases to give me lately.

  3. I’m really, really glad the dog is ok. That must have been a horrible moment before you knew she was.

  4. Glad to hear everyone is okay, including Mrs. Wigglebottom.

    Insurance adjusters suck. I had a run-in with one recently due to roof problems much less severe than that. I called the state Department of Commerce and Insurance and they said if I disputed the adjusters ruling then I should ask for an engineers report. When I asked the adjusters for an engineers report they shot me down until I casually mentioned that I was an engineer.

    I’d blame the weather. It’s probably some complication of the wet/dry cycle caused by the extreme heat followed by the large amounts of rainfall. Heat shrinks everything and then moisture swells it up.

  5. Holy fuck.

    I have never heard of such a thing happening. Thank God everyone is okay.

    If the adjustor can’t find a reason? WTF is that? Get another adjustor!

    Yeah all of that super hot, dry weather followed by so much moisture from weeks of rain … that has to have something to do with it.

  6. Farm Bureau. They are the best.

    How old is that ceiling? My bathroom ceiling once fell in on me while I was taking a shower. That was related to a leak, however.

  7. Woah, WTF? I popped over here to talk True Blood and discovered this post… Oh no! Ceilings are not meant to fall down. I have no words.

    Fingies crossed the insurance pays out!!

  8. Oh wow! How on earth did Mrs. W not get squashed?

    This happened to my sister once-but slowly and in one piece so that her tall husband could hold it up while she got the TV and such out.

    And I have no idea what the insurance results were.

  9. I can’t look at the picture here at work, fb is blocked. Glad everyone got out. Good luck with the insurance adjuster/insurance company. I strongly dislike insurance adjusters/insurance companies.

  10. Impressed with your Mom’s presence of mind. And happy that you all got out safely. But still…HOLY FUCK DOES THAT SUCK. It’s random and awful and I hope to god the insurance co isn’t venal and dumb (though, yeah, the odds on that one…).

  11. Jeesh and double jeesh. Keep us informed.

    In other news: Mark Smirnoff is out at the Oxford American. (see F’book, etc. for ongoing details..))

  12. I’m sure that what Beth says goes for everyone here.

    And I’m sure that the [ahem] numerous fans Marc Smirnoff’s behavior has won him over the years, and his [ahem] happy knack for winning the friendship of his writers, will help him land on his feet.

  13. I would say, “Lord, have mercy,” but it looks like he did! That’s awful!

    In my ancient, decrepit house, the ceilings are all wallpapered, which is probably the only thing keeping them up where they belong.

  14. If the insurance doesn’t have to pay out if the adjuster can’t find a cause, that would seem to motivate the adjuster to fail to find a cause.

  15. Pingback: txmere · Roof-raisin’

Comments are closed.