Little Pitchers Have Big Ears

We moved around a lot when I was a kid, so the one place that I felt was unchanging was my grandparents’ house in Battle Creek. I remember being there one summer and I was out talking to the pine tree in their back yard, as you do. I don’t know. I’ve just always talked to plants. I was born that way.

But I remember overhearing my grandpa saying to my cousin M. something about how weird I was.

I don’t remember his exact words anymore, but I remember how it stung, how it made me feel like I didn’t fit in even at the one place I thought was stable and always accepting of me.

I don’t suppose, in the end, he meant anything terrible by it. And I guess I was weird.

But I have never forgotten the way my breath caught in my throat and my cheeks burned to hear it.

5 thoughts on “Little Pitchers Have Big Ears

  1. This is one of the things that is constantly getting parents in trouble. Sadly, also why I probably won’t be able to bring the kids this weekend.

  2. To be honest, I’m very stressed about people bringing their kids. I mean, if you know what you’re getting into and what you’re getting your kids into, then that’s fine by me. My parents were letting me read Stephen King in middle school and I’m fine (right?). I have friends who’ve discovered that the easiest way to keep their kids from watching rated R movies is to just not forbid it. if it’s not a big sneaky deal, their kids would rather watch kids’ movies.

    So, you know, if a parent KNOWS my work and thinks it’s fine for their kids, I don’t care.

    I just hate feeling like so many people have been so generous to me, maybe because they read Pith (though i cuss on Pith… so maybe my hypothesis is wrong) or because I’m funny on twitter, and they show up and the thanks they get is me teaching their kids “fuck.”

  3. You should edit the TCP Tshirt you own — perhaps a glittery asterisk with “might say ‘fuck'” on it, just to be safe — & wear it to events.

  4. Being weird is always difficult as a child, but “normal” kids don’t end up being remarkable adults like the weird ones do.

  5. Hi I love reading your blog, and I can so relate to the moving around alot and not sure about fitting it. I shall look forward to hearing more about your life Cheers Susan

Leave a Reply

