I May Have Poisoned Myself

I went out to nap in the hammock this afternoon. It was beautiful and green and lovely and I was sleepy and everything was gently rocking and I awoke with a start because I realized I was going to puke. I sat up and put my head down and it kind of stopped. I got in the house and then, weirdly, even though I’d eaten lunch, did this weird kind of dry-heaving retching thing, but nothing happened.

Then I laid on the couch all afternoon, but I couldn’t sleep because I just felt so nauseous. I ate some popcorn and it kind of settled me stomach.

But other than that, I feel fine, if a little spacy from feeling almost seasick.

So, that pretty much shot my whole afternoon, which is too bad. I hope that’s the end of it. I don’t feel like I’m getting sick or anything. So, I wonder if it was the hamburger I had for lunch or what.

4 thoughts on “I May Have Poisoned Myself

  1. Oh, nausea is such an AWFUL thing, and you forget how bad it is until you have it again. I think I’d rather feel pain than nausea.

    I hope you’re feeling better soon.

  2. I hope you’re feeling better. I’m not a doctor, but what you described sounds the same as my mom’s descriptions of her vertigo.

  3. Allidee, I’m glad you said that, because I do get vertigo really bad when i have a panic attack, which means my body obviously has practice at it. I hadn’t thought of that–I thought maybe food poisoning or something. But I will pay attention to see if it happens again.

  4. I feel like some sort of (probably imaginary) poisonous noxious* cloud swept over the region yesterday because I have also been dealing with a wretched headache and nausea, as has a friend of mine in Bowling Green. Here’s hoping we all feel better soon.

    *I apparently went through a phase as a child of calling all bad things “a poisonous noxious.”

Leave a Reply

