The Diviners

I finished Libba Bray’s The Diviners and I really, really like it. I’m glad I went on past the first chapter. But, whoa boy, it is really intense. There were a few moments when I had to put the book down and work up the nerve to keep reading. That was fun and it’s been a long time since I did that while reading a book–had that delicious feeling of wanting to know what comes next and yet not quite being brave enough to look.

I don’t read a lot of young adult fiction, since, when I was growing up, that meant books like Sweet Valley High which I just had no interest in. But I think this is supposed to be a book people in high school and college would like, especially.

And I have to say, if that’s the case, I’m a little jealous of kids today.

So, first chapter? Ugh, just too too much. But it improves rapidly from there and her magical knowledge is just spot on. It’s a real treat.

Leave a Reply

