Project X: One Story, One Bestiary, One Index

I finished up the penultimate story. It might need some major pace fucking-with during revisions, but the draft is done. I thought about just going right into the last story, but I need to let it grow at its own pace. I just wonder if it’s going to come like the one I thought would break me open to get out. It kind of feels like that.

So, I have one story, a bestiary, and an index left. I’m looking forward to the index. Should be some room for humor in there, I think.

The only thing I’m bummed about with the bestiary is that I totally wanted to include the Bell Witch’s rabbit-headed dog, but I just can’t let go of the idea that it was a black sheep. Except, come on! A farmer would have recognized a sheep, right?

How mortifying to be not only terrorized by a sheep, but to not recognize it, if that’s the case.

Oh, especially if it was a lamb. It’s all “baa, baa” and you’re hearing it is “boo, boo.”

Now I kind of want a lamb. Not as a pet, but just to hang out with me tonight.

5 thoughts on “Project X: One Story, One Bestiary, One Index

  1. I thought that farmers around here did not raise sheep — at least that’s been given as the explanation of why no one eats lamb. So he could easily not have recognized one — though it seems to me that anyone who lived around animals ought to have recognized a sheep as some sort of grass-eater.

  2. This is going to drive me buggy all day until I can figure out who to ask about this. On the one hand, I’ve not heard of people raising sheep in Middle Tennessee. On the other hand, considering how shallow the soil can be in parts, sheep would seem like a natural stock to have here where you can’t grow crops. Not to mention that you need wool for clothing (until the cotton industry gets up and going) so wouldn’t someone in each community have sheep, even if not everyone?

    I can see how, by the time cotton got established, sheep ownership would have declined, but we’re talking 1820s here. John Bell was a settler in Robertson County, among the first white people in the area and he came with all the other white people in the area.

    So, how would a sheep get to Adams, Tennessee without Bell having seen it before it stood in his field?

    I guess that’s not an insurmountable problem. If someone were looking to establish a flock and one wandered off as he was walking them to their new pasture, it’s possible Bell could have seen it and not known what it was because he saw it upon its first arrival in Adams.

    And I think it’s possible that he’d been in some altercation, was afraid of being cursed, saw the animal and freaked out, assuming it was something evil, just because the arrival of an unrecognized animal coincided with his already amped-up stress.

    And, my god, if it had red eyes like the sheep in the ad?

    Still, it’s a little weird.

  3. If sheep are like my goats I could see a lost one running towards him making some horrible noise that really means “feed me”.
    And yeah, if he’s already freaked out he might not even think ‘maybe a sheep’, just ‘DEMON!!!’

  4. A long, long time ago, when midnight traipsing through creepy abandoned buildings seemed like a TERRIFIC lark to me, I shone my tiny flashlight onto a suspiciously dark spot (!) in the corner of the basement (!!) of an abandoned mental institution (!!!) and nearly turned myself inside out in terror when the blackness opened yellow, slit-pupil eyes at me, displayed horns and huge ears, and went “Maaaaaaa!”

    That damn goat had solid black fur and had been fast asleep and perfectly motionless-until a pack of probably-not-sober dumbass kids woke her up and shone a light at her head. If you’d asked me right then, I would sworn she was the devil come to eat my soul. And probably described her as rabbit-headed, six feet long and breathing fire.

Leave a Reply

