“Is there anything soft left of you?”

I had a dream. I don’t remember what it was exactly, except for that in it, I was walking backwards across a field to try to get to two men who were having a conversation without startling them.

And that was the question the older one asked of the younger one: Is there anything soft left of you?

It woke me up. I felt like I had eavesdropped by accident on a question the Universe had for someone else.

Dreams are strange. Over the holidays I kept having this dream that I was introducing people to a very casual acquaintance of mine (I like him, but don’t really know him and our lives intersect maybe once every 18 months.) as “my old husband.” Not, “ex-husband.” “Old husband.” Like we’d been married in some other life.

When I was in college, I knew a guy I always felt I’d known already. Getting to know him, I experienced it all the time as “Oh, I forgot you did that.”

I don’t know. Brains are weird. They do their own things, make their own connections. I don’t think I really believe in reincarnation, but sometimes I wonder.

So, who knows? Maybe once someone asked that of me–is there anything soft left of you?–and now all there is is softness and yielding and giving way.

7 thoughts on ““Is there anything soft left of you?”

  1. I think it’s the question that a long-dead person might ask of the recently dead. After all, at some point, there will be nothing soft left of us.

  2. Speak for yourself. I’m going to be kept in a large jar of honey and be soft and sweet for eternity. I just have to figure out if Mason jars come in my size.

  3. Oh, that reminds me — the book I was telling you about with the honified mummy is The Dervish House.

    And I would say that you are a mixture of soft and hard parts, emotionally speaking. You know, just as we all are.

  4. I read a strange book once called Breath and Bones and the main character’s body ends up preserved in a glass jar of “alcohol and other fluids” in a museum. Y’all have reminded me of this.

    Softness is relative, and inevitable anyway. Even though our culture idolizes the logical, hard, emotionless action hero, no one is really like that.

Comments are closed.