A Tiny Cat Comes to Tiny Cat Pants

kittenThis year of stupid shit that breaks my heart continues. Mrs. Wigglebottom and I were out walking when we heard a cat meowing loudly. I looked around for it, hoping that it wasn’t one of my cats following me clear down Lloyd.

It wasn’t. It was this guy, laying on the side of the road. Even from the other side, it was clear something wasn’t right. We got closer. He made no effort to escape us. And then I saw that he probably had been hit by a car. You can see in this picture that his right back foot doesn’t face the right way. He’s covered in piss and shit. But he doesn’t holler when you touch him or when he tries to walk on that leg, which leads me to believe that there’s probably some nerve damage.

Something seems to be wrong with his eyes. But he saw us to holler at us, I think.

I put him in the garage and chased all the other animals out. I gave him water, which he drank like a fiend. And I gave him food, which he fell asleep in.

I don’t know how he can live, frankly. I’m hoping Animal Control will take him and just make him comfortable and then end him.

When I picked him up–because what can you do but pick them up?–I told him “it’s okay, everything’s going to be okay.” And then I cried because I’m a liar.

I hate the person that left that kitten.

5 thoughts on “A Tiny Cat Comes to Tiny Cat Pants

  1. That is dreadful. At least you are keeping him from suffering any more. And when that’s all that can be done for a creature, it’s a kind thing to do.

  2. As I read this post, my kids and I are recovering from seeing our faithful dog Boy-boy hit by a car and die in my arms. It’s been one full day. I just keep cleaning and moving from one task to the next, pausing, and crying. Not my first ride on this train. Pain dulls after a while. Hang in there.

Leave a Reply

