Project X: Some More Thoughts on Yesterday

One of the things I find so intimidating/exciting is that, in some ways, these folks are like me–creative and really interested in their craft. But that “in their craft” part covers so much ground I just know nothing about. To hear them talking about why they’re interested in making their own paper–because the paper has such an important effect on how the ink will look–just blew my mind. I mean, obviously, that’s true. But it hadn’t occurred to me that people would take the time to figure out how to manipulate that. And yet, of course, they must.

It just felt like, wow, these are brilliant people who know so much about what they’re doing. So, I kept saying “I don’t have any set expectations about what the art might look like” because I just felt surrounded by people who would have so many better ideas than I could possibly have.

I can’t wait to see what they start to come up with.

3 thoughts on “Project X: Some More Thoughts on Yesterday

  1. It’s wonderful that they are so creative and attentive to details. Remember that they are feeling the same awe of you, for being able to get your words to make the story you want. Everybody’s creativity is mysterious to everybody else.

  2. Back when I worked in both the motion picture business and publishing in NYC, the movie people always thought I must hold them in, well, limited regard, because I was one of those classy, high-minded, intellectual “publishing people,” and, naturally, the publishing people thought I couldn’t think much of them, since I was used to the glamor and glitter of the picture business. Both were wrong, in several ways, including what they thought the business that wasn’t theirs was like. You can bet that those graphic artists are both wary and envious of your ability to work with narrative and comfort with it. It’s almost ethnic.

Leave a Reply

