Tearing Down Buildings

In an unintended, but now hilarious to me, coincidence, my story, “Beyond, Behind, Below“–about what happens when you fuck with a dude’s ancient wreck of a cabin–is out the same day I argue we should tear down the United Methodist Publishing House building and not feel bad about it for even a second.

Anyway, check out the whole issue of Betwixt. There’s some really great stuff in there.

And then feel free to come back and tell me if you like the story.

 

10 thoughts on “Tearing Down Buildings

  1. I am in agreement with you. I thought that list was rather odd. The Naval Building is actually undergoing renovation, so I’m not sure why it even made it on the list, since it’s not in any danger at all. I was supposed to tour it last week, but we couldn’t get in because the demolition crews were in there. These are crews that are preparing it for renovation. It was damaged in the May 2010 flood and has asbestos in it.

  2. Yeah, even the press release sounds pretty positive about the Naval Building, like we’re just supposed to watch and make sure good things keep happening there? It is odd. I really love that building, too. I hope they find some good use for it.

  3. Spoiler alert-

    I can’t figure what expression of ~something~ to use for B, B, B. The paragraph about the heart was such a surprise/shock that I had to re-read it twice. Very unnerving. And I want to think the ending is kind but the undercurrents make me think maybe not.
    I’m going to have to read it again later……

  4. rheather, I think it’s better for people who are nice to him, though, certainly, none of the run-ins we see people having with him end particularly well. But, yeah, me, too. I hope the sad kid experiences this as an escape, even if the people in the subdivision can only experience it as the loss of a seventh son.

    NM, I wish that were a real award!

  5. “A discomfort to his parents” is a phrase of sheerest genius. I like this story a lot. I agree that the heart line stopped me cold, rheather. I loved the tactile details. I could almost smell the water.

  6. The line that I can’t believe I wrote is “The arching trees, children of those that fell to make the cabin, succumb to chainsaws in an afternoon.” I love it so much.Should probably just print it out and frame it, because I’m not sure when I’ll have another one that good.

    Plus, I took great glee in imagining tearing privet out with chains and trucks. But you guys know how much I hate privet.

  7. “Plus, I took great glee in imagining tearing privet out with chains and trucks. But you guys know how much I hate privet.”

    That was one of my favorite parts, really.

    I found the story intriguing but unsettling, which is a good quality in a ghost story.

  8. I intended him to be a fairy, but I didn’t spell it out because it seemed like it might be feeding into some kind of negative fairy/”fairy” stereotypes. Like of course the fairy can’t make a family work and is a danger to young men.

    So, I decided to just leave what he was more ambiguous so that he wouldn’t be read as some retro-allegory opposite of my personal beliefs. I probably overthink these things.

    I’m tickled that it seemed like it could be our old friend, the Devil.

Leave a Reply

