The End of the Adventures with Mrs. Wigglebottom

Mrs. Wigglebottom had a real name, which I didn’t use on the blog in order to preserve her anonymity. It was Sadie. Her name was Sadie. She died how she lived–well-loved, fed ridiculous shit that wasn’t good for her, and, in keeping with her recent habits, peeing on the Butcher.

Her death was sad, but she died here on the couch and it was just like they promised. She went to sleep and then she died. And then the Butcher dug a hole and we put her in it.

It’s so sad I can’t even tell you. Coming home this evening and not having anyone to let out just about brought me to my knees. But I’m also feeling great relief. The vet told us she had a huge mass in her abdomen and, if it had burst, her death would have been messy and unbearably painful. So, I’m very grateful that we were able to spare her that.

And now I’m tired and frazzled and heartbroken.

21 thoughts on “The End of the Adventures with Mrs. Wigglebottom

  1. I’ve never commented before, but I check in here every so often and just want to say how sorry I am for your loss. I know well the grief of losing a beloved animal, and I wish you peace and happy memories.

  2. I kept thinking this evening about that afternoon I came back to your house with you after her surgery and Sadie and I sat there together. She was so sweet and so drugged up! :) You were running some errands and talking on the phone and I just sort of sat there quietly with her and we talked and petted. She was such a sweet, crazy dame. I’ll really miss knowing that she was there for you.

  3. It is the tragedy of loving pets that this is the way every dog story ends. But that tragedy is more than balanced by the years of life and love and comedy that they give us.

    I’m glad that it’s so clear that this was the right thing to do for Sadie.

    My thoughts are with you all.

  4. I’m so sorry for the sadness and loss you are experiencing. I’m grateful that you have such clear evidence that you did the right and kind thing at the right time. In my experience, that does help a little, but not as much as pets living forever would. I hope your cats are being extra-kind to you while you grieve. You and the Butcher are in my thoughts.

  5. I’m thinking of you. I’m thinking of Sadie, too. What a great friend you had. I agree with Coble — she was a swell broad. Love to you.

  6. I’m glad it was peaceful, and that you got to have closure with her. Goodbye, Sadie. You were much loved by your humans, and by the readers of this blog, too.

  7. So sorry for your loss, Aunt B. I always loved the Adventures with Mrs. Wigglebottom stories. Sending hugs and warm wishes to you and the Butcher, and all of Sadie’s friends who were such a big part of her life.

  8. I met her when she was still technically your Recalcitrant Brother’s dog. I will remember her young, probably overwhelmed, and jumping on everyone when she wasn’t racing around your parent’s yard at about 50 miles an hour.

  9. Pingback: SayUncle » So long and thanks for all the smiles

  10. Always remember that given the opportunity, any good dog would gladly die a horrible death to save you. You made it her life’s end much better than that.

Comments are closed.