Worlds apart

I talked to my second-oldest friend in the world on Saturday. The only person I’m not related to I’ve known longer is his brother. When we were little, I kind of just assumed I would eventually marry him. I also assumed I was going to marry my cousin J., so all that nonsense I said last week about not giving a shit about polygamy? Well, little B. was counting on it.

Anyway, it was really nice to talk to him.

It’s hard not to get down about the world, sometimes. I mean, take what happened yesterday. That’s the world I want to live in–where a Methodist grandpa takes his grandson to the Jewish community center because it’s a community center where things people in the community are interested in happen. I want to live in a world where Jewish people have no reason to fear letting non-Jewish people into their buildings. I want to live in a world where Christians don’t feel threatened or uncomfortable going to the Jewish community center.

But I live in a world where people just trying to live in the world I want to live in pay with their lives.

But what can you do in the face of fuckers except persevere for as long as you can? It aggravates me when people are like “Just love each other” or “just be kind.” But I recognize that there’s a nugget of something radical there.

 

One thought on “Worlds apart

  1. Thank you, dear one, for saying what I’ve been grappling with articulating all day.

    What can you do, when people who simply are trying to live as they were taught by that radical Jewish carpenter — to love their neighbors as themselves — pay the ultimate price? Follow the new gospel of Matthew (McC) and just keep livin’? In the face of hatred and insanity and starve thy neighbor ’cause he’s poor and therefore lesser than me?

    Seems that once again you’re exactly right. It is pretty radical: Keep on loving our neighbors because we should and because it’s wonderfully world-changing when we do.

    And if it makes the haters furious, well then, dance up on them haters. They can either join our dance or keel over from their hate.

Leave a Reply

