Forty is Coming

I can vividly remember my friends’ parents having their 40th birthday parties with “Lordy, Lordy, Look Who’s 40″ on the cakes or decorations. And I remember thinking “Wow, 40. That’s practically dead. How sad, because I really like X.”

And here we are, twenty days out from me turning 40.

I have accomplished nothing! I feel like a kid who hasn’t done his homework and then discovers that the school has burned down. I have accomplished nothing! Victory is mine!

Which is not to say that I haven’t accomplished some things. But I do think that I have very successfully make a way in the world that I can thrive and be weird and still be okay. That means a lot to me.

7 thoughts on “Forty is Coming

  1. There’s always the slightly darker “Look who’s over the hill” theme…

    After reading, “I have accomplished nothing! Victory is mine!” I want a bumper sticker for the first time in my life.

  2. Let me say this about the paella. If a recipe tells you that you don’t need a paella pan–you can just make it in a big fry pan–and the recipe calls for 1 1/2 cups of rice, the recipe is lying. Otherwise, expect for the mess, it was delicious and easy.

  3. My coworkers did that “humorous” thing where they guerrilla-decorated my office in black streamers and skulls and tombstones. I thought, but did not say, No, no, this was what I liked at 22, not now!

  4. B–You’ve accomplished a very great deal. I think about where you are with writing and with being an independent and verve-y self and it makes me swoon. I wish I could be you. A

Leave a Reply

