While We’re Busy WTF-ing on Plants

Let me ask you about your morning glories. Mine took forever to get going.  Forever.  And for a while, before they really took off, I had one lone ground flower.

But now, I have a lot of green leafiness but no flowers.

I also have to tell you, much to my shame, I am not yet an experienced enough gardener to have a wild flower garden from seed.  I have been trying to weed my wildflower garden, but I have no idea what the hell is wildflower and what is weed.

I don’t know.  It kind of cracks me up.  I know peonies, some kinds of marigolds, the coneflowers, and the morning glories.  But even the marigolds sometimes surprise me, becuase I have a couple of three-footers.  Who has three foot tall marigolds?!

I also have mixed feelings about my herb garden.  I know everything is just very small right now, but it feels so bare.

I’ll have to take some pictures so you can see.

5 thoughts on “While We’re Busy WTF-ing on Plants

  1. My morning glories pretty much just started blooming in the past 2 or 3 weeks. I just noticed also, that the blooms are isolated in clusters along the vine, and not spread out in even distribution.

    I’m with you on the wildflower thing – not knowing what is flower & what is weed. So, to remedy this, I just isolate wildflowers to one area, one patch. Then I leave it alone, let it grow and eventually the flowers answer the question.

    in regards to herb gardens – how can yours be small right now? When did you plant? My basil, parsley, mint, sage — everything is going nuts.
    And if you need some basil, swing by… I’m up to my ass in it. I used a bunch in spaghetti last night, but I’ve got a long way to go before I’m ever going to be able to use it all — and this includes my freezing it for the winter months.

  2. I don’t know if it counts as an herb, but our lavendar has gone NUTS this year. We have one plant on either side of the sidewalk to the back door, and they plants have gotten so big that the sidewalk is now blocked!

  3. My herbs have also gone nuts this year. I even have a sage plant which I *thought* I pulled up last fall, come back for a last hurrah. I’ve had to trim back my basil as it’s started to flower (once it does that it gets nasty. DO NOT let your basil flower!). My rosemary plants are now shrubs.

    I planted morning glories one year but they are evil little suckers. They are weeds and once they get established they will take over your garden. I couldn’t get rid of them. I finally had to move. Not because of the morning glories, mind you, but it solved the problem …

    I would say if you can’t tell a wildflower from a weed, don’t weed anything. And yes, you can have 3-foot-tall marigolds. Marigolds come in all sorts of varieties, from scrubby little border plants to major mamas. Check the package when you plant to make sure you aren’t putting the little guys in the back of your beds.

    I’m worried about my tomatoes. We planted them late. I have some humongous tomatoes on my vines but they are still green. I’m worried they won’t ripen before frost!

    I also have some peppers that are going nuts. I think they’re jalapenos but I forgot to save the package and so honestly I have no idea what they are, thus I have no idea when I should harvest them. They are going nuts as well, I could pick a peck if pickled peppers and still have a few peck more to go around. How do you know when it’s time to pick your peppers?

  4. Southern Beale – I transplanted my morning glory to a pot this year (2nd year) and trained it up a wire on the side of the house. That seems to be a good call, regarding your advice on them going crazy. I wish I’d planted my mint in another spot as it’s gone bananas and is now fighting for territory with the sage.

    Re: peppers. I have a plant. It’s producing peppers out the wazoo – i’m not sure what kind they are, but my family always used them to make pepper sauce – you immerse these peppers whole in vinegar and pour it all over black eyed peas and turnip greens. YUM!

  5. The best way to start wildflowers is to look for the seeds suspended in stuff that forms a mat. You spread it all over your area and water until it gets going — then it forms a barrier to the weeds until the flowers are established. I loved this stuff in Nebraska, but haven’t used it in MN, as I only have a deck…

Leave a Reply

