Where Have all the Flowers Gone, blah blah blah blah

I’m bummed about the end of Liberadio, and Kleinheider being off the internet (and no, fucking Facebook doesn’t count), and I think just general end-of-session blahs. It’s hard not to be burnt out on Tennessee politics. Especially when you know next year is going to be worse. Believe me, folks, if Arizona doesn’t get sued back into the stone-age, we’ll all be carrying our papers everywhere we go, trying o figure out how to prove we’re fucking U.S. citizens.

Fortunately, I know where my birth certificate is, but as for the rest of you? Have fun waiting for ICE to get back to the jailer in whatever little podunk jail you’re stuck in, because the county can’t afford the lawsuits if they didn’t run everybody.

Shoot, they already made it a law that your employer can require you to speak English in the workplace, even on your breaks, even in private conversations with others.

And yet, we have to sit around listening to these bozos crow about liberty. Who knew “liberty” meant “my right to boss you around”?

And don’t even get me started on the abortion stuff. It wouldn’t be so bad, except that you cannot count on Democrats to also not vote for this crap.

Blah. I will end with the wise words of Jeff Woods: “Reason #435 to wonder why we bother with a two-party system in this state.”

Just… yes, I know I said I was going to end, but here’s the thing: I saw on Speak to Power this morning that we’re losing the blogosphere, at least the non-professional enthusiast.  And I think we’ve all noticed the dwindling numbers out here.

So… I don’t know. I just hope something comes along to take its place and some folks with fresh enthusiasm step up to try to change things.

But I think it’s going to be very, very bad next year and I don’t think there’s anything we can do to stop it.

And that bums me out.

11 thoughts on “Where Have all the Flowers Gone, blah blah blah blah

  1. I sure do, but then I won’t need my birth certificate: I also have a driver’s license and HCP, two valid forms of ID, so there’s no reason for the police to suspect that I might be illegal.

  2. I feel a little like Linda Hamilton at the end of the first “Terminator.” There is, indeed, a storm coming. I don’t know whether to simply hunker down (my first instinct) and wait for it to blow over, or to get ready to fight, as Linda did (in Terminator 2).

    Fortunately, I have lived long enough to know that when the pendulum swings as far to the right as it has in Tennessee, a swing back to the left is inevitable at some point. Unfortunately, I’m so damned old that I may not live to see it swing back in my lifetime.

    I think you can bet the ranch that the present majority in the General Assembly will do everything in its power to solidify its hold on the state through the power of redistricting. It’s kind of ironic that the first of the great one-man-one-vote redistricting cases originated right here in Nashville – then, used to achieve liberal ends, now, not so much. If the wingers are successful at gerrymandering what they want, that’ll retard the pendulum quite a bit.

    Two little bits of comfort: they can’t control what you think, and they can’t make you obey. As one of Heinlein’s characters said, “I tolerate the laws that I find tolerable, and a break the rest.” It’ll be interesting to see whether we see an increase in both overt and covert civil disobedience over the next two decades.

  3. Mark – if you look at the overall percentage of votes cast for Republicans vs. Democrats in the last few elections in TN and then look at the percentage of
    Republicans vs Democrats in the state house and senate you will see how gerrymandered the Democrats have made the districts. Any changes by the Republicans will be bringing the districts more in line with actual vote totals and yes it will lead to a larger Republican majority in the state house and senate.

  4. Pingback: Shake Your Groove Thang | Speak to Power

  5. Jim – take a look at the map of the 7th Congressional District and tell me that has anything to do with logic or fairness. A district that goes from Brentwood to Germantown and is occasionally only as wide as the highway can only be drawn to serve one purpose. That purpose has nothing to do with justice, and everything to do with keeping Marsha Blackburn in Washington.

    I don’t dispute that your side has the votes right now. That was kind of the point I was trying to make in my earlier post. Enjoy it while you’re on top. I’ll grit my teeth and get through somehow.

    If the Tennessee GOP were dominated by old-style East Tennessee Republicans it would be easier to swallow. Most East Tennessee Republicans are nice folks (Stacey Campfield notwithstanding) with whom I just happen to disagree on some subjects. The conventional wisdom used to be that it was easier to get along with an East Tennessee Republican than a West Tennessee Democrat (think Ray Blanton). But the supply of John Duncan Srs, and the 1970s version of Lamar Alexanders is just about exhausted. What we have now are Republicans who have swung so far to the right that I’m not sure we speak the same language any more.

  6. Marsha Blackburn Voted FOR:
    Omnibus Appropriations, Special Education, Global AIDS Initiative, Job Training, Unemployment Benefits, Labor-HHS-Education Appropriations, Agriculture Appropriations, U.S.-Singapore Trade, U.S.-Chile Trade, Supplemental Spending for Iraq & Afghanistan, Prescription Drug Benefit, Child Nutrition Programs, Surface Transportation, Job Training and Worker Services, Agriculture Appropriations, Foreign Aid, Vocational/Technical Training, Supplemental Appropriations, UN “Reforms.” Patriot Act Reauthorization, CAFTA, Katrina Hurricane-relief Appropriations, Head Start Funding, Line-item Rescission, Oman Trade Agreement, Military Tribunals, Electronic Surveillance, Head Start Funding, COPS Funding, Funding the REAL ID Act (National ID), Foreign Intelligence Surveillance, Thought Crimes “Violent Radicalization and Homegrown Terrorism Prevention Act, Peru Free Trade Agreement, Economic Stimulus, Farm Bill (Veto Override), Warrantless Searches, Employee Verification Program, Body Imaging Screening.

    Marsha Blackburn Voted AGAINST:
    Ban on UN Contributions, eliminate Millennium Challenge Account, WTO Withdrawal, UN Dues Decrease, Defunding the NAIS, Iran Military Operations defunding Iraq Troop Withdrawal, congress authorization of Iran Military Operations.

    Marsha Blackburn is my Congressman.
    See her unconstitutional votes at :
    http://mickeywhite.blogspot.com/2009/09/tn-congressman-marsha-blackburn-votes.html
    Mickey

  7. Pingback: Five Years of Women’s Health News « Women's Health News

  8. Mark – you can’t blame the Republicans for the shape of the 7th District . The Democrats drew the shape of the Districts last time. They basically made sure to lump as many Republicans into as few a districts as possible. If the Republican vote was spread out among more districts, then our delegation to Congress would be a Republican majority.

Leave a Reply

