Ugh, “Play”

I just want to complain for a second and say that, if you are a business with a product I might use in my line of work, don’t tell me in the sales pitch that there are areas on your website for me to “play.” I don’t care how awesome your product is. I am not going to feel like I am “playing” with it every time I use it.

Don’t turn “play” into a buzz word. That’s a word I like that means “not work.”

Also, is it too late to turn back “webinar” in favor of “online meeting”? Having a webinar where I can learn how to play in your website’s communities just depresses me.

11 thoughts on “Ugh, “Play”

  1. One of my husband’s coworkers – who you know – is fond of saying, “I don’t wake up and go to fun every day.” Not entirely in line with your point, but I thought you’d like it.

  2. I fully support a return to online meeting. For some reason, my line of work is unreasonably obsessed with webinars and that word makes me want to bang my head on the wall.

  3. Yup. Even now working mostly within the Internet marketing industry, I absolutely loathe the word webinar. Luckily most of my closest associates don’t use the term (usually conference instead) and the word webinar’s become my key to separating stuff I might dig from stuff I’m going to run in the other direction from.

  4. Ehrenreich talks in one of her books, “Bait and Switch” I think, about mandatory fun in today’s white collar jobs. Like, it’s not enough to just show up and do a good job. You have to be having FUN, and show it with your positive attitude! She says that kind of enforced insincerity is soul crushing.

    I think this company’s dippy “play” nonsense is part of all of that.

  5. O.C. reminded me of something else. When we briefly worked for UT’s private practice arm, I HATED having to go over there for “training sessions” or whatever the hell they were called. Inevitably a significant portion of the time would be spent in touchy-feely icebreaker get-to-know-you kind of stuff and omg I just hated it. World’s biggest time waster when I really needed to be doing WORK instead since I was always, always behind. The actual training was fine, it was the hour or two spent on that other crap that made me just want to rip my eyeballs out.

    That kind of stuff is fine and great and all that in certain situations – statewide church youth stuff, we did stuff like that all the time, fine. In a group of people I consider friends or acquaintances (like bloggers for instance), fine.

    At work while on the job? With mostly people I don’t care if I ever see again and probably won’t? No.

    I suppose I had a shitty attitude about it but going from years of real private practice to that organizational corporate mandatory fun touchy-feely junk – blech.

  6. Lynnster made me think of something about touchy-feely-fun(not) stuff at work .

    If I’m remembering right, Miss Manners said something to the effect of “Manners exist so you don’t have to ‘get to know’ everyone.”

    And something about getting to know some people better just makes you dislike them more…

  7. When we briefly worked for UT’s private practice arm, I HATED having to go over there for “training sessions” or whatever the hell they were called.

    There was a time that they were called “Lunch ‘n Learn” sessions, as that was typically the only time you could get people together. Lunch was offered as an incentive; i.e. someone would provide it. But you would have a vendor session or a training session — you could get everyone in one room and people got fed on someone else’s dime. Mutual benefit.

    When times were not as flush economically, people continued to have “Lunch ‘n Learn” sessions but would ask you to BYO. This is where the concept falls apart, if you ask me. If you’re not providing food, it’s a “Lunchless Learn.” And when these sessions became mandatory rather than voluntary, that’s where the concept pretty much fell apart.

    I don’t know if the “Lunch ‘n Learn” is very much in vogue any more, but there was a time I could count on it for at least 2 out of 5 days that I didn’t have to go into my own pocket and to be fed.

  8. We do Lunch ‘N Learns at my job. Not that often anymore, just every once in awhile. They are intended to be optional, but occasionally we have one that is mandatory, and often we have ones mandatory for certain departments (small company so a “department” is like 5 people). I have always wondered if the mandatory ones are even legal (since they HAVE to give you a lunch break and I’m not sure a mandatory meeting where lunch is served counts), but I’ve never cared enough to push it. It’s free food.

  9. Now, we did “Lunch ‘n Learn” type stuff at Methodist, with food cooked by the cafeteria which was always surprisingly good. And the training was almost always informative and great. But none of that touchy feely getting to know you crap, just training. That I liked.That other stuff – no. And I think a lot of the time we didn’t get fed either (and that was years ago before the economy went bust).

  10. Back to question #1 (webinar vs. online meeting), the terms actually mean different things, so using one term versus the other may just be a way to differentiate between what type of meeting it is.

    Webinar – A word mash of ‘web’ and ‘seminar’ usually refers to some sort of online presentation where one or two people are talking and a whole bunch (20ish or more) are just there to watch and listen. Usually, everyone but the presenters are muted and have no presenter or annotator rights.

    Online Meeting (or web conference or virtual meeting) – generally refers to a meeting in some online collaboration software where attendees have the opportunity (and expectation) to speak up and contribute. As in “what do you think I need to change about this video to make it better” – and people talk, comment, annotate, etc.

    While webinars and online meetings can use the same software, the expectations from the attendees are different.

    How do I know all this fabulous information? Oh. I work and play for Fuze Meeting, a web conferencing software!

Leave a Reply

