The Dog and the Pool

I don’t know if y’all remember, but last year, I bought a kiddie pool for the dog and she did not get it. She circled around it and then, eventually, stood in it all dejected because, maybe, she was going to have to have a bath.

So, we put it up and thought no more about it.

Well, when the Shill and her family were here, I pulled it out, washed it out, and filled it up. And I will be damned if that dog didn’t finally get what the fuss was about. She splashed and splashed and splashed in it. She growled and barked at that water. She stuck her whole face in it and made a “burgurgleleypth” noise.

And last night, when we went outside for our evening constitutional, I got caught up in trying to figure out what color the coneflowers that are getting ready to bloom might be, and I lost track of the dog.

Where did I find her?

Standing in the kiddie pool. Just standing there. With this enormous grin on her face like there was no place in the world that could make her happier.

5 thoughts on “The Dog and the Pool

  1. I love your politics. And love the political posts on this blog.

    But, it’s posts like this one that keep me coming back to this site on a daily basis. As I read this, I’m grinning as big as the dog in the kiddie pool.

    No biggie if it can’t happen, but a pic of the dog playing in the kiddie pool someday would make my week. :)

  2. I love this. I love that she loves the pool. I have thought about getting mine one but I’m not sure if they would get it either.

    It’s so blasted hot I wish I was in the pool with Mrs. W. right now!!!

  3. Hi! I’m Joanaroo’s tuxedo cat Tuxi. Mrs. W. sounds like she found the perfect way to cool off when she’s outside. I should get one of those wading pools for Mom! She can’t stand heat and humidity and she looks like Casper the friendly ghost because of being indoors alot. But! She went out yesterday in 91 degree weather to take her junk out of the old storage area she had. She has a new climate-controlled unit and most said junk is going in it. Even if she decides to yard sell some of it, she can wipe it off, put it in the new unit and it stays nice and clean till said sale. She came in red as a beet and sweaty. My house mate Peach loves to put his nose in her sweaty t-shirt armpit. But I digress. After sitting in the AC she was fine. Still I see that faroff look in her eye like missing the old days of the wading pool.

  4. PS: Why do I stay up late, pinch Mom’s cell phone while she sleeps, and like to write comments on the Tiny Cat Pants Blog.? Because I can. And because I have VERY GOOD TASTE! =) Love the blog! Tuxi

  5. I would love to see some pictures of her if you have taken any. I bet she looks too cute playing in her pool. Not sure if you’d be interested but they do make inexpensive dog swimming pools.

    If you click on the link you can read my review of the dog pool I bought for Sadie and Rusty. I had to actually get into the pool with them before they figured out it was safe for them to get in.

Leave a Reply

