After Life by Rhian Ellis

I loved this book almost from the first word. It just never wasn’t terrific and sad and slightly creep. I don’t remember reading anything about it when it came out, so I’m glad I stumbled across it now. It’s set in a thinly-veiled Lily Dale and the main character is a medium. The writing is just delicious and, upon finishing it, it made me so heart-sick for my mom that I’m moping around doing laundry and missing her.

I’ve noticed more and more that paperback books have discussion questions in the back. I find them annoying, like blog posts that end in questions at the bottom. As if you want to have a pop quiz after reading a book like this.

But the worst part is that the questions are so… pedestrian. Like the first one is “What’s the significance of the title?” I mean, it’s a book about mediums. There’s a dead guy. If this is the first question you have about the book upon finishing it, I feel certain in saying that you probably didn’t like it very much.

And there’s a huge tell that whoever wrote the questions was certainly not the author and may not have even read the book–“Could this story have taken place anywhere else?” Um, yes. I venture to say very little would have had to change if they’d gone to Cassadaga, Florida or they could have just stayed in New Orleans. What a weird question.

Anyway, I’m nitpicking about the questions because the book is so peculiar and wonderful and sad that there’s not much other than that to say about it.

5 thoughts on “After Life by Rhian Ellis

  1. If I were in a book club and the first question they asked me about this book was “What did you think if the title?” I would roll my eyes so hard they might sprain.

    Also, a couple of the questions were yes and no answers. How does that lead to good discussion?

  2. Everybody else said “book clubs” days ago. So I don’t need to say it again.

    But I will say that from my experience of book clubs those questions are pretty typical. This is why I am not in book clubs now. I’d rather talk about the book on somebody’s blog or on goodreads or wherever the intelligent discussion is happening.

Comments are closed.