“To allow everyone to write, to thrive, to live.”

Daniel José Older has a tremendous essay in Apex Magazine this month. It reminds me a lot of Carole Maso’s “Rupture, Verge, and Precipice / Precipice, Verge, and Hurt Not,” which you know is still an essay I return to when I want to remind myself of the kind of writing I want to do, how I want my readers to feel that I am astonished by those “sturdy, glittering charms” in my hand.

It might seem kind of depressing that Maso can write “The future will be gorgeous and reckless, and words, those luminous charms, will set us free again. If only for a moment.” in 1995 and Older can write “We dive in, thrive in the unexplored realms, and the world is asking us to create something new, a new aesthetic, a new community. A new language, brave and delicious, to greet the coming day.” in 2013 and it seems like they’re both pointing us to the same place, still the same distance away.

But I find it inspiring–that we can find people on the path we want to be on, who are gesturing us ahead, who are putting up the signposts we need to know we are headed in the right direction. Never fast enough, never without unfortunate detours, but still headed that way.

