Update on the Broomstick Lace Baby Blanket

Though I settled on three rows of broomstick lace as a decorative element, I ended up doing about seven rows just to get the three rows right. That shit is hard! Well, no, doing it is relatively easy once you get the hang of it. But trying to figure out where you’ve fucked up and how to rectify it? That’s hard as shit. I just kept tearing out and redoing until it worked, though I can’t say why it finally worked when it did.

And now I’m in this situation where the half-double crochet part is wider than the broomstick lace part, which, duh, now in retrospect, of course it would be. And I’m not quite sure how to fix it. Blocking will help some, but I think the other important thing I’m going to do is to put a really ruffly border on it, so the shorter rows aren’t as noticeable.

Still in love with that red, though.

2 thoughts on “Update on the Broomstick Lace Baby Blanket

  1. I’ve finally looked up broomstick lace and it’s so pretty! But reading the instructions was ‘What!?’
    So I can see it taking a couple of tries to get it done.

    (And I’m wondering if it’s like my car shade-a flat circle that you twist/push so it coils up and gets smaller-in that I see no way how it works other than a dimensional rift. So I try not to think on it.)

  2. Yeah, if I’m going to do this particular blanket again, I’m going to figure out what smaller hook’s 100 half-double-crochets would line up with the 100 loops with the hook I love for the broomstick lace and just crochet the blanket with two different hooks. But for now, I’ll fix this blanket with a frilly border.

Comments are closed.