The Stranger You Bore

I’m following along as best I can with the Vandy rape case. It’s depressing the hell out of me. I can’t help but feel for Batey’s parents. What must it be like to know that your son raped (with his friends) a woman and then peed on her? Everything I’ve read suggests he really was a “good kid.” If there was anything to indicate they’d be sitting in a court room watching video of him doing this horrific thing, I haven’t seen it.

There are some reprehensible actions that, even if they seem improbable, don’t seem implausible, when you know someone. I imagine that, as horrifying as it is to have a relative who kills someone while driving under the influence, you probably know your relative is the kind of person who might drive under the influence. You see how you got from person A to action B.

I don’t know. I’m torn between having a hard time believing that none of them had any experience doing this type of thing before and feeling for their parents. How strange it must be to feel like you’ve so fundamentally misrecognized who your own child is.