The Next Afghan

Seriously, y’all, even if I’d only ever learned this motif from this book, this would be the greatest Christmas present ever. So, we did the hexagon version and the quadragon version… ha ha ha. I really wish quadragon was a word. But the square version is what I just finished up. And next on the docket is the octagon version. I’m doing this up for my friend, Tracy, who used to have a nickname around here, but I don’t remember what it was.

The tricky thing about this is that, when you put octagons together, there’s a square of emptiness (warning, there are a lot of hexagons at that link, which is aggravating). I want to fill that square of emptiness. But with what? A regular square or a twisty square? See that yellow part in this octagon. Could I stick that in the empty part? I don’t know. We’ll have to see.

ts afghan

One thought on “The Next Afghan

  1. If you stick a smaller octagon in the square of emptiness, then you’ll have 4 even smaller empty triangles in the corners. They might be small enough for it to look cool. You’d have to try it to find out.

Comments are closed.