Dogsitting

We’re dogsitting Sonnyboy’s friend. He is fascinated by the cats. I am a little frightened for him, because this morning, the orange cat got behind the couch and growled to draw the dog’s attention. Then the new kitty attacked him from behind.

Like some kind of two-cat lion pride.

He didn’t seem to mind, though. He’s back in the other room trying to sniff the new kitty. Sonnyboy keeps going into the other room to try to talk his friend into being cool, but it’s not working.

In other news, my eye seems much improved, though still pretty hideous looking. The Butcher’s like “Well, you’re staying home today, right?” But this is literally the one week this month I cannot be out of work, certainly not for itchy aesthetic reasons. I am going to try to get home early, just because all the animals are in the house and there’s going to be a thunderstorm. That seems like a lot to ask of everyone.

And last, but not least, here is a weird thing I can’t figure out with this newest afghan. The octagons are the same height and width as the squares. I guess they involve a little less stitching because you’re minus the corners, but the stitching is a little more complicated because it’s eight sides.

But, if I want something the same size as the Hill House afghan, I need 63 squares. Folks, I have 24 octagons done. Since I started. On Sunday. And this is with me having this weird eye shit and farting around with Ashland and dog-sitting and gardening. I have six more that just need borders. If I don’t go out tonight, which, let’s be honest, I’m not going to looking like this, I’ll finish those up. I’ll have thirty done.

Why is this going so quick?! I just don’t understand it. I could easily be done with the octagon part of this afghan, at this pace, by Memorial day. Literally the only way my brain can make sense of this is that the octagons must be smaller than the squares. But I keep measuring them and they’re the same.

Now, granted, I have all the inset squares to do and piecing this together is going to be a weird challenge, so it’s not like it’s going to be the fastest afghan in the world–the finishing of it may be the challenge. But I’m boggled about this part.