I Watched a Lot of Movies

I felt pretty sick to my stomach yesterday so I basically sat on the couch and made octagons and watched movies.

First up was Bessie, which was on HBO. I really want to see it on the big screen or sitting closer to the screen. It was so beautiful and the costumes were amazing. I heard some complaints about the pacing but I didn’t notice. I really felt like I was watching something amazing. I really liked, especially, the way the movie got at how performing and being a performer is a give and take with the audience, something you do together, for and with each other.

Then we watched Sunset, though I sat outside and thought about “Ashland” for the first part. It was good, but we more enjoyed it for the “Oh, hey, it’s that guy!” aspects.

Then the Butcher fell asleep and I rewatched Lake Mungo, which might have also fallen under “thinking about Ashland.” This time I was really struck by how I still thought it was really good, but how much faster things seemed to happen, and how less dreamlike it felt. I also want to take to heart how, again, simple it is. I think that, in order for a haunted house story to work, it’s probably best to not convolute the plot.

And last, I watched As Above, So Below, which was… I don’t know… really stupid and not scary and somehow much, much better than it had any right to be.

I feel like I’m on the verge of figuring out what’s not working for me about the little bit of “Ashland” I have done.

I really want to see copies of the paperback of The Wolf’s Bane, but I’m trying not to be all nutty and pushing about it.