In Which I Begin to Suspect I Know More about Physics than I Think I Do

I have a cool, weird thing early tomorrow, so I spent my evening listening to podcasts and working on the afghan and very shortly going to bed. I have all the octagons together. I am beginning to place the squares. Here’s what I know. Each octagon has, wait for it, eight spines. Eight places where there’s one stitch on top of another all the way to the outside of the octagon, no funny business, no fucking around. Those spines are not all straight, because the first stitch on the ring slides pretty dramatically, but they will eventually work their way straight because the first stitch on the ring slides pretty dramatically AND each octagon is connected to at least two, usually four, other octagons. Those four short seams set in place the top ends of the spines and, more importantly, pull on them, eventually pulling them straight. But, I think, because the seams are so short, they don’t give the afghan the strong skeleton it would otherwise have. The afghan doesn’t pull all its weight at the seams. It pulls on those octagons.

The little squares seem to take some of the force off the octagons. It’s still holier than I’m used to, but I think it will look okay.

octagon afghan 3 octagon afghan 4

2 thoughts on “In Which I Begin to Suspect I Know More about Physics than I Think I Do

  1. Me, too. I’m almost done edging it and then I just have to tuck the tails. And then wash it, which I’m VERY nervous about. I like how the squares between the octagons look, too, even more than I thought I would.

Comments are closed.