THE WOLF’S BANE Open Thread

Spoilers welcome, questions answered, discussions had. Fair warning.

4 thoughts on “THE WOLF’S BANE Open Thread

  1. One of the things that really struck me was how much I was reminded of “Like Water for Chocolate” in the first half of the book. The herbal, the list of creatures, and the excerpts from Dr. Jack all gave me that same sort of feeling – that those pieces were both outside of the actual story and simultaneously a vehicle for the story. I love that. It’s a great reflection, I think, of how we all tell our stories. Very few people sit down to tell theri lives from point a to point z, but someone could trace quite a bit about us from all the bits and pieces we leave about. I imagine my story would be best told by my dozens of legal pads full of notes on every topic that I can never make myself throw away, my personal email, and the notes in the margins of my books. But then again, I wouldn’t get to pick what sources were used to recreate my story, would I?

  2. Oh good! I’m glad that worked. I was trying to be really cognizant of how, if you got this book and it were real, you’d of course, pour over it and read it multiple times for clues that might help you out currently.

    One of my favorite things about the art is that, for the most part, it’s not referenced in the text, so I hope it gives readers the sense that there are more stories, more experiences, than what made it into writing.

    In a perfect world, I’d love it if one copy was somehow open to the public and people could add to it. There’s something about the collaborative nature of the project that really made the story, for me, a lot richer and I’d love it if that could continue somehow.

  3. I’d imagine that’s a real challenge: to tell a story that makes sense but with multiple voices and while making it clear that there’s a lot of story still “out there.” A collaborative open-to-the-public version would be a ton of fun. Maybe web-based? But of course you’d probably get horrible people who ruined it for everyone with trolling nonsense.
    On another note, my personal interpretation leads me to believe that Momma Phae is a descendant of the slave Phaedre in the Outlander books. If you’re not familiar with the series (they are smut masquerading as historical fiction, but it’s such enjoyable,well-researched smut), Phaedre is the body slave of an elderly and wealthy blind woman, but also know by the other slaves in the area as the woman to go to for the kind of problems women tend to have. It amuses me to think that her “talent for herbs” was always a little more than that and was passed down to your Phae along with the name.

  4. I haven’t read the Outlander books, but I really love the tie-in.

    I wish people weren’t such jerks, because I found the collaborative process really amazing and I’d like to share that feeling.

    I’m also really glad that the narrators all seemed distinct enough. I worry that everyone just sounds like me making funny voices. So, I’m glad that works for readers.

Comments are closed.