Devil Dance Blues by Sippie Wallace

I can’t find any online lyrics for this and I think I might need them. Help me, sharper-eared folks!

I had a dream last night and it filled me full of fright.

I had a dream last night. It filled me full of fright.

I dreamed I was in the dancehall where the Devil dance at night.

I saw the sweet Mrs. Devil standing in her home (? Possibly she’s saying “Sweet Mister Devil” but then I don’t know where he’s standing.)

I saw the sweet Mrs. Devil standing in her home

He was out with the Devil band. He was giving a ball. (This whole verse seems like it might be wrong.)

He had on a robe that was that was made of crow(?)

He had on a robe that was made made of bone(?) (It seems unlikely that he was wearing a robe of crow and bone, but my god, I hope so. A Robe of Crow and Bone is the name of a book, I tell you.)

I never seen no Devil look so sweet before.

It was a dream a dream I never had before.

It was a dream a dream I never had before.

I dream we all was dancing and put on a great big show.

4 thoughts on “Devil Dance Blues by Sippie Wallace

  1. Your transcription is spot-on except for a couple of understandable mishearings.

    I believe it’s

    “I saw the sweet Mrs. Devil standing in her hall
    I saw the sweet Mrs. Devil standing in her hall”

    That not only would rhyme with “ball” but keeps the “dancehall” and woman-wronged imagery going: poor little missus stuck at the house while poppa’s gone out jukin’. I don’t hear her pronouncing an “m” in there.

    And as for the robe, I believe it’s

    “He had on a robe that was that was made of gold
    He had on a robe that was that was made of gold”

    That one is indeed hard to understand. And I agree with you; you need to go ahead and get Lindsey or someone working on the cover for “A Robe of Crow and Bone.” That … ooooooh, boy, such possibilities. Granny Rat’s anniversasry gift, perhaps, from that Demonbreun fellow. ;)

    (Thank you for sharing Miss Sippie with folks. I adore her beyond reason.)

  2. I love those old blues women. But, yeah, usually, between their antique Southern accents and the scratchy records, I’m often just guessing what they’re saying.

  3. OK; performer Suzy Thompson, who recorded the song with Del Rey, says she has it like this (similar to gradefille):

    I had a dream last night, and it filled me full of fright

    I had a dream last night, it filled me full of fright

    I dreamed I was in the dance hall where the devil danced at night

    I saw the sweet Mrs Devil, standing in her hall

    I saw the sweet Mrs Devil, standing in her hall

    She was out with the Devil and, he was giving a ball

    He had on a robe, that was made of gold

    He had on a robe, that was made of gold

    I never seen no Devil, look so sweet before

    It was a dream, a dream I’ve never had before

    It was a dream, a dream I’ve never had before

    I dream they all were dancing, and put on a great big show

Comments are closed.