Proofs

My page proofs from Fantasy and Science Fiction arrived today. I wanted to read them before work, but I was so excited and tickled by the drop cap at the beginning of my story that I couldn’t really concentrate on anything else.

But I read through them at lunch and I found no mistakes!

Since I work in publishing (albeit a much different kind) I knew what this meant. So, I walked down the hall to my co-worker editor who is a speculative fiction fan and I told her that I had the page proofs and that I’d found no errors.

“There’s never no errors.”

“That’s my thought.”

“I’ll look it over at lunch.”

I think, too, she may be the first person who is not me or someone I submitted the story to to read it, so I’m grateful/nervous/excited to see what she thinks.

One thought on “Proofs

Comments are closed.