The Weight

Talking about religion is tedious and boring. Religious experience is like a vivid dream. To you, if you have it, it can shake you to the core. Hearing about someone else’s religious experiences? As dull as hearing about someone’s dreams.

Also, maybe this isn’t that weird. Maybe I did know about this before and just don’t remember that I knew.

All that being said, I’m going to say something about religion.

Every October, I take nine evenings and set aside some time to hang out with my ancestors and see what kinds of visions my subconscious might dredge up.

This October, I had a vision that I was in a room with a loom, but the loom was set up very strangely. It hanged down and, as the weaver worked it, she moved the done cloth up at the top. She unrolled more thread to work on somehow from these big stone or clay weights that hanged down beneath the work.

I couldn’t make sense of it, exactly, how the weights worked, how the loom itself could possibly make sense. I drew a picture of it and it still made no sense to me, so I put it out of my mind, figured it was symbolic, allegorical.

Until today.

Those are the weights, set up exactly how I saw. That’s the loom, but it makes sense, because it’s not relying on someone who doesn’t understand what she’s seeing to make sense of it.

This is a style of weaving I don’t think I knew existed before October. I don’t remember knowing it anyway. If I did know it, how did I not know it in a way that made more sense to me?

But I saw it.

And today, I saw it.

I’m shaken. I’m not sure what it means, if anything. But I’m shaken.

6 thoughts on “The Weight

  1. Well, if nothing else, that loom is fascinating and I am now plotting how to make that in my living room.

  2. That is a fascinating loom and it showing up and making no sense kind of implies you’ve never seen one before. I’d be shaken too.

  3. The upright, warp-weighted loom was common in the ancient world. Most of them were less fancy and solid than what is shown in the video (although the video is awesome)–they were somewhat portable, and were used propped up against the wall, at a slope. The Greeks said that dreaming about an upright loom meant that you would be going to travel. So maybe your ancestors were giving you a nudge in that direction.

Comments are closed.