A Free State

I read A Free State by Tom Piazza yesterday. I can’t stop thinking about it. It’s about minstrelsy and music and what it means to  be free. The writing is so extraordinary I can’t even believe a person I know can write like that.

And it understands American whiteness so well it’s almost breathtaking.

Narratively named my Isaac Franklin piece an editor’s pick for their best of 2015. That’s pretty amazing.

I spent yesterday reading great writing, being appreciated for my writing, and relistening to podcasts I love while crocheting. If this is what the new year brings, I’m all for it.

2 thoughts on “A Free State

  1. I LOVE The Black Tapes and Tanis. I love Lore and Writing Excuses and Brian Keene’s podcast and Welcome to Nightvale. I adore the Dollop and Ditch Diggers.

Comments are closed.