The Curse of Jacob Tracy

I’m reading it and enjoying the hell out of it. I’m also having fun trying to decide if I should recommend it to nm–“It’s about a guy in St. Louis back in the 1880s who can see ghosts and battle demons!” or if she would hate it.

But I’m side-eyeing St. Martin’s, the publisher, because they did this book a little wrong with its layout–very cramped margins, almost uncomfortably long lines, chapters not page-broken, but just run inline. I know how fast I read and I know I should be on page 210 or so and I’m on page 174.

It’s a good story, but this is the first book in a long time I’ve read where I thought, “You know, this might be easier to read on a Kindle.”

3 thoughts on “The Curse of Jacob Tracy

  1. I liked it, though I didn’t love it. I felt a little cheated that it’s the first in a series, but, if there’s anything to indicate that on the book, I missed it. One of the characters is really weirdly written. He’s all “I support you if you want to do x.” “Oh my god, I can’t believe you did x. I’m so pissed.” “I will go with you if you want to do incredibly stupid y even though you’ve warned me that you’re afraid I will die while you do y.” “I can’t hang out with you anymore because you put me in danger when you did y.” I couldn’t ever decide if that was an intentional personality quirk or if the author didn’t have a handle on the character or what motivated him. And the main character is a “good, misguided Confederate.” So, it really depends on your tolerance for that.

    If it weren’t for the novelty of it being sent in St. Louis, I wouldn’t have thought to recommend it to you at all.

  2. UGH bad layout UGH. They probably did it on the cheap, made the page size smaller late in the process and decided not to reflow the text/fix margins. And it’s also bad marketing not to indicate something is a series…you want people to go “Oh, I can buy the rest? Where?” and get more sales. If it was some podunk tiny publisher I’d shrug but St. Martin’s should know better.

Comments are closed.