Country Radio

At least one country station in rural Tennessee is playing Justin Timberlake’s “Drink You Away,” which I think has to be a result of there still being some local programming people AND his appearance with Chris Stapleton.

I also heard this song as I was driving the backroads of Tennessee and I was like, “Damn, this is going to be stuck in my head.” I’m a sucker for a good sing-along song. I did kind of wonder if someone this young, when she mentions Hank, means Sr. or Jr. Then I wondered where she was hearing either of them on the radio. But anyway, I like this song and I’m sad to learn that it’s getting caught up in the whole “But is it country?” debate. This is a good song. If it’s not country, who’s going to play it?

4 thoughts on “Country Radio

  1. I really like this song. I first heard it driving back to the airport after my dad’s funeral. It was a good song to hear at that moment. It’s more country than Sam Hunt, IMHO. And it’s nice to hear a new female singer.

  2. She’s one of the opening acts for Chris Stapleton’s upcoming Ryman stand..and was in the recent “New Women of Country” line-up..so clearly some people are good with it–and I think they oughta be, too…

  3. The lyrics talk about “the highway FM” but I think she has to be talking about satellite radio. Nitpicking aside, it’s a great song.

Comments are closed.