The Picot Afghan

I have started on an afghan with picots, which are little bumps that I think I am not making correctly. And I’m pissed because this is the second square I’ve made out of this book where the last row’s directions are fucked the fuck up.

The one square, I could figure out because I understood the pattern of the rows beneath and so I quickly realized that two numbers had been transposed.

But this last row is just wrong. The second to the last row calls for you to start at a corner and go around the square. Obviously, you then finish at that corner. The last row starts out with you making eight stitches to the corner. Motherfucker, I’m at the corner. I need to make eight stitches to the first picot. Except, whoops, I need to make nine, it turns out after I get halfway done with the last round and realize something is very wrong.

Everything else about the square is really lovely and I’m really liking it. But I’m already nervous about this picot situation–because you join as you go at the picots–and knowing that my first join-as-you-go afghan is going to be based on a faulty last row is causing me a lot of anger.

My new plan is to do a couple of sample squares and do the join and see how it goes. If it seems fucked up in any way, I’m taking off the picot edging and I’ll just do some kind of lacy join between the squares that doesn’t require me to figure out how the pattern is fucked.

But it’s irritating. And knowing how screwy some of these squares have been is, frankly, why I ended up not going with the flower–because I worried it would be fucked up and that I wouldn’t have the skill or familiarity with the motif to figure out how.

So, let me tell you. If you’re going to spend the money on any kind of crochet pattern book, just make sure it also comes with diagrams. At first, you’ll be like “Ugh, diagrams! I hate them and they make no sense.” But when you’re floundering in the pattern it’s sure helpful to have something to refer to. And it should have been a tip-off to me that not enough care was given with these patterns since the book contains no diagrams.

In other afghan related news, I’m using this weird yarn. S. wanted something that could go in the wash and in the dryer, so I picked out this 50/50 acrylic/nylon. But it’s not twisted together, it’s braided. You can’t really tell when it’s worked up, except it’s kind of boingy in a way twisted yarn isn’t, and it’s got a drape more like cotton than acrylic.

It seems like it will be quite pleasant to wrap around you, once I get this last round situation figured out.

One thought on “The Picot Afghan

  1. It’s not you. Crochet patterns are pretty uniformly awful. Charts are not common in our patterns as they are in Japanese patterns, and there seems to be no agreed upon standard to fall back on. I can only assume this lack of uniformity means that they are also not well tech edited. Soldier on. I’m sure your afghan will be gorgeous.

Comments are closed.