Mind Like a Goldfish

This morning, as we were coming back from our walk, the Butcher came home. The dog got so excited he was jumping and tugging and barking, so I let him go. He went racing, full speed, towards the man he loves.

Then, there was New Kitty at the back of the shed. So, Sonnyboy stopped at the shed, hung out with New Kitty for a few minutes and then, when the Butcher shouted “Hey,” to me, the dog was all excited again! His boy was home! Oh wow!

He ran toward the Butcher. Again. Like he had just realized the Butcher was home.

It made me laugh really hard.

Like, bless his heart, he wanted to be excited the whole length of the back yard, but he can’t keep something in his brain that long.

3 thoughts on “Mind Like a Goldfish

  1. But he got double excitements! And to see New Kitty! Who he hadn’t seen since you left on the walk! Or maybe even earlier!
    Oh Sonnyboy-I like him so much.

  2. I feel like I should to more posts about what a big-hearted galoot he is–like how he sits under the magnolia with the Butcher’s girlfriend’s daughter and listens to all her problems patiently–just to balance out the posts about how dumb he is. But I hope it’s obvious that I adore him.

  3. He’s such a good dog that it makes me just wonder-again-what was wrong with his first people? How do you not appreciate such a great dog? (And it’s obvious you adore him, even when he does what-the-hell? dog things.)

Comments are closed.