Pyramid Schemes

One thing I’ve been noticing is how much of the “writing life” is a pyramid scheme. I didn’t put that together until I was talking to S. about it one day at lunch, my irritation with not knowing whether I should pay for an editor or pay to take this or that workshop or…

You hear a lot of advice about how, in writing, the author gets paid. The author does not pay.

At the same time, everyone wants to sell you a book about how to write, or, if you know how to do that, how to market. Take a cruise! Go to a workshop! Hire an editor!

Like, how much money am I supposed to outlay before the “the author does not pay” rule kicks in?

One thought on “Pyramid Schemes

  1. FWIW… I paid nothing to anyone. I did a lot of reading online about writing a query letter, but I did not hire an editor. (Something like PitchWars might be useful for feedback and networking, but I didn’t do that, either.)

Comments are closed.