WaPo, Round Two

Here is my second thing for the Post. I’m really pleased with how it turned out. I want to be funny and charming and knowledgeable and I think I pulled that off.

I think I have a better idea of why this is happening and what the trajectory could look like and, even though I would appreciate all fingers crossed, I think this will be a somewhat irregular opportunity that falls into my lap from time to time. Which is very lovely. And more may come of it. We’ll see.

In other news, my friend’s baby died yesterday. And, when I was at KFC picking the Butcher up dinner, there were kittens under a truck and I tried to coax them out, but they wouldn’t come and I came home knowing it was going to get down below freezing last night, with me having left those kittens behind.

I don’t mean to sound flip about my friend’s tragedy. There are things people can write about and things they can’t. When I try to wrap my mind around this, it feels like this terrible thing and then a blast zone around it of, like, twenty miles and words fail in the blast zone.

So, you end up trying to talk about the thing without talking about the thing. There are those kittens. There is that small boy. There is Jim’s death. There are a million other heartaches, piling one upon the other, and how do you go on, except to go on?

I don’t know what I’m getting at here except to say that I am so happy and so sad and I don’t really know how to reconcile the two.

 

 

5 thoughts on “WaPo, Round Two

  1. I’m very sorry about the baby. I’ve been following along with that as best I could from afar (since I don’t actually *know* any of you). I was pulling for the little guy. 2016 sucks. I really hope next year is better. I’m expecting a huge windfall on January 22 – I also expect to be disappointed.

  2. One of the amazing things about people is their capacity to carry pain and joy simultaneously. Isn’t that one of the glories of the best country music? So don’t worry that you can’t reconcile them — just let yourself feel them both to the fullest. The columns are great, by the way. I hope to see more (says the hardcore liberal leftist who lives about four hours south of you.)

  3. I don’t care about her wrestling empire, I just oppose her Republicanism. To her credit she doesn’t seem as crazy as the rank and file of DT’s picks, but I doubt she’ll do much to stem the tide of crazy either.

  4. Opus, I think the hardest part is that the news was dire from the start and somehow became more dire every time they had an update and yet, somehow, he lived. So, I just thought there would be some way he could defy the odds, that there would be something they could do for him. I really wanted that for my friends. And instead, they had to do the hardest thing a parent might be called on to do. It just makes me so sad.

  5. Yeah. It’s heartbreaking. Unfortunately it feels like 2016 has had more than its share of tragedies and heartbreak. We have to keep hoping in order to keep going and when there just isn’t any more hope it becomes devastating. I hope they know that they are loved and cared about, even by strangers.

Comments are closed.