Goth Baby Blanket

So, I did my first zigzag afghan. I’m very pleased with how it turned out, even though I did it wrong the whole way through. I was a third into it when I realized the pattern was calling for working into the back loop instead of the front loop (I guess so you’d get a little puff on each row?) and I had worked into the front loop. But, I wasn’t going to frog a third of an afghan that had all been done one way. I just continued forward in my wrong manner, figuring the baby wouldn’t care.

Anyway, I love it. A friend wants me to eventually make a big one for her, but I have to admit that I have mixed feelings about it. If I could figure out how to do this exact afghan, but scaled up to adult size, I’d be on that in a second, but the spider webs between each chevron and the border aren’t going to scale up. So… I don’t know. I’ll have to think about how to do it.

But lord, do I love this. Vampires would wrap their babies in this.Wednesday Addams probably had one of these.

img_1389

4 thoughts on “Goth Baby Blanket

  1. I thought they had a kind of cathedral vibe, too!

    And yes, I think it does end up being about color. No matter how fancy or plain the stitches, getting the right color makes all the difference. I’m not sure this blanked would be as awesome in shades of yellow, you know?

Comments are closed.