Too Much Togetherness

My parents cleaned my bathroom today. Like, scrubbed on hands and knees cleaned. They also vaccuumed. They love to do this shit because, if I complain about it, then I’m a lunatic. Because they’re helping.

Really, they’re going through all my shit and passing judgement on it and me. My house is disgusting. I need to do this and that. Yes, they rearranged my house to suit them, cleaned the bathroom to their standards, and then tried to leave me a list of things to do, as if my job is to take care of their house.

This, though, is my house.

It doesn’t feel like it right now.

And I hate it. I hate that they do this and I hate that I don’t know how to stop them from doing it

I hate that their biggest complaint is that I’m bossy, but they do this shit. I hate that they make me feel so bad about myself without even trying.

I hate and feel guilty about how miserable they make me.

2 thoughts on “Too Much Togetherness

  1. I’m so sorry. I can imagine how baffling and invasive it would feel, and I’m sure they’d say they were being helpful.

    It’s hard to endure the love of people who can’t quite stop trying to change you or control you.

    At some point I guess they will be too old and frail to scrub your floors but it’s not the kind of thing a person wants to wish for!

  2. Stuff like that has no good resolution. I suppose you could tell them before they arrive that they can’t do X or Y, but it sounds like they would agree and then do it anyway. I feel for you.

Leave a Reply

